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Section 504 plan can satisfy the CAHSEE 
requirement by:
◗ passing the examination,
◗ meeting the exemption requirement pursuant 

to California Education Code (EC) Section 
60852.3, or

◗ receiving a local waiver pursuant to EC 
Section 60851(c)(1).

Information for students with disabilities can 
be found on the CDE Students with Disabilities 
– CAHSEE Exemptions and Waivers Web
page at http://www.cde.ca.gov/ta/tg/hs/
cahseewaiversexempt.asp.

EC Section 60852.3 provides an exemption 
from meeting the CAHSEE requirement as a 
condition of receiving a diploma of graduation. To 
be eligible, students with disabilities must have 
an IEP or a Section 504 plan. The IEP or Section 
504 plan must state that the student is scheduled 
to receive a high school diploma. It must also 
state that the student has satisfied or will satisfy 
all other state and local requirements for high 
school graduation, on or after July 1, 2009. 

What is done to assist students with 
disabilities when taking the CAHSEE?
The CAHSEE regulations specify 
accommodations and modifications that students 
with disabilities must be permitted to use if 
specified in the student’s IEP or Section 504 
plan. The IEP or Section 504 plan must specify 
that these modifications or accommodations can 
be used on the CAHSEE, standardized testing, 
or during classroom instruction and assessment. 
Students who use an accommodation and earn 
a score of 350 or higher have passed that part of 
the CAHSEE. Students who use a modification 
and earn the equivalent of a passing score 
on one or both parts of the CAHSEE have 
not passed. However, to meet the CAHSEE 
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requirement, a principal may request a local 
waiver of the CAHSEE requirement from their 
local school board.

What is done to assist English learner 
students who are taking the CAHSEE?
Students who are English learners must be 
allowed to take the CAHSEE with certain 
test variations. These variations apply if used 
regularly in the classroom. For example, English 
learners must be permitted to hear the test 
directions in their primary language or use a 
translation glossary.

Students who are English learners are required 
to take the CAHSEE in grade ten with all other 
grade ten students. During their first 24 months 
in a California school, English learners are 
to receive 6 months of instruction in reading, 
writing, and comprehension in English (EC 
Section 60852). During this time, they are still 
required to take the CAHSEE. All students must 
pass both parts of the CAHSEE to receive their 
high school diploma.

For more information…
Visit the CDE CAHSEE Web page at 

http://www.cde.ca.gov/ta/tg/hs/
or

Contact your child’s teachers, 
principal, or counselor.

http://www.cde.ca.gov/ta/tg/hs/
http://www.cde.ca.gov/ta/tg/hs/cahseewaiversexempt.asp
http://www.cde.ca.gov/ta/tg/hs/cahseewaiversexempt.asp


What is the CAHSEE? 
State law allowed for the creation of the California 
High School Exit Examination (CAHSEE) in 1999. 

All California public school students, except 
eligible students with disabilities, must pass 
the CAHSEE to receive a high school diploma. 
Students also must meet state and local 
requirements. 

The primary purpose of the CAHSEE is to make 
sure that students who graduate from high school 
can show that they are performing at grade level 
on California’s content standards. The content 
standards on the CAHSEE include reading, 
writing, and mathematics. Standards describe 
what students should know and be able to do at 
each grade level from kindergarten through grade 
twelve.

What subjects does the CAHSEE cover?
The exam consists of two parts. The first part 
includes English–language arts (reading and 
writing) content standards through grade ten. The 
reading section covers:
◗ Vocabulary
◗ Informational reading comprehension
◗ Literary response and analysis

The writing section covers:
◗ Writing strategies
◗ Writing applications
◗ Written and oral English language conventions

The other part of the CAHSEE addresses 
California’s mathematics content standards in 
grades six and seven and Algebra I, including the 
following: 
◗ Statistics, data analysis, and probability 
◗ Number sense 

◗ Measurement and geometry 
◗ Algebra and functions 
◗ Mathematical reasoning 
◗ Algebra I 

Students must show computational skills and a 
foundation of knowledge in arithmetic including 
working with decimals, fractions, and percentages.

What kinds of questions are on the 
CAHSEE? 
The English–language arts part of the CAHSEE 
includes multiple-choice questions and a writing 
task (essay). The mathematics part includes all 
multiple-choice questions. All questions on the test 
are in English. 

When is the CAHSEE administered? 
The CAHSEE is administered at the school 
site during regular school hours on the State-
Superintendent-of-Public-Instruction-approved 
dates chosen by your school district. The English–
language arts part is administered on the first day 
of testing. The mathematics part is administered 
on the second day. All students must take the 
CAHSEE for the first time in grade ten.

A scale score of 350 or higher is required on each 
part of the CAHSEE to pass. Students do not 
need to pass both parts of the CAHSEE during 
the same test administration. Students who do 
not pass one or both parts in grade ten will have 
additional chances in grade eleven and in grade 
twelve, if needed. Students who have not passed 
one or both parts by the end of grade twelve may 
contact their school or school district to inquire 
about options available to them.

When do parents or guardians receive 
their child’s results? 
Within eight weeks, school districts will receive 
CAHSEE Student and Parent reports. The 
school district will send one copy to the student’s 
parents or guardians and place the other copy in 
the student’s permanent record. 

Does passing the CAHSEE guarantee 
that a student will receive a high school 
diploma? 
No. Passing the CAHSEE is just one requirement 
for graduating from high school. Students also 
must meet all other state and local requirements 
to receive a diploma.

How can parents or guardians help their 
child prepare for the CAHSEE? 
The best preparation for the CAHSEE is good 
instruction. Parents or guardians should talk 
with their child’s teachers or principal about 
the English–language arts and mathematics 
content standards being taught at the school. 
The California Department of Education 
(CDE) has released sample CAHSEE test 
questions and CAHSEE study guides. These 
can be used to help students, parents, 
and guardians prepare for the CAHSEE. 
These materials can be found on the CDE 
CAHSEE Program Resources Web page at 
http://www.cde.ca.gov/ta/tg/hs/resources.asp.

Some children may need extra help to pass 
the CAHSEE. Parents or guardians should 
ask school officials about additional learning 
opportunities provided by the school.

Are students with disabilities required to 
pass the CAHSEE?
Eligible students with disabilities with an active 
individualized education program (IEP) or 
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