Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

CMA Science Blueprint Preface

Standardized Testing and Reporting Program - California Modified Assessment - Science Blueprint Preface for grades five, eight, and ten.

The following blueprints are for the California Modified Assessment (CMA) for Science in grades five and eight and the CMA for Life Science in grade ten.

The science CMA blueprints consist of 48, 54, or 60 items, depending on the grade level, and contain similar percentages of items per strand to the California Standards Tests (CSTs). As indicated in the blueprints, the test administered at grade five assesses grade four and grade five standards. The CMA for Science is taken by students with an individualized education program (IEP) who meet each of the State Board of Education-adopted eligibility criteria.

It is also important to note:

  • Except for the Investigation and Experimentation standards, the “# of Items” column shows the numbers of questions testing each standard as well as the total number of questions for each strand. The “%” column shows the percentage of questions assessing each strand.
  • A distinction is made between the descriptive statement that precedes each set of standards (e.g., 1, 2, 3), and the standards that are actually being assessed (e.g., 1a, 2a, 3a).

In some grades or courses there are standards that, while important, are not assessable on a statewide examination. These standards have been identified with the notation “*”. Though these standards are not assessed, they are important to the comprehension of the strand.

Questions:   California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress Office | | 916-445-8765
Last Reviewed: Monday, November 14, 2016
Recently Posted in Testing