Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

ELA Blueprint Preface

The following blueprints are for the California Standards Tests (CSTs) in English-language arts (ELA) that students take in grades two through eleven. As the blueprints indicate, the ELA CSTs for grades two and three consist of 65 multiple-choice questions with an additional 6 field-test questions. For grades four through eleven, the tests consist of 75 multiple-choice questions with an additional 6 field-test questions. At grades four and seven, the ELA CSTs also include a writing component, the California Writing Standards Test, which addresses a writing applications standard selected for testing each year. This component is not indicated on these blueprints. It is also important to note:

  • The “# of Items” column shows the numbers of questions testing each standard as well as the total number of questions for each strand. The “%” column shows the percentage of questions assessing each strand.
  • A distinction is made between the descriptive statements that precede each set of standards (i.e., 1.0, 2.0, etc.), and the standards that are actually being assessed (i.e., 1.1, 2.1, etc.).
  • In some grades there are standards that, while important, are not assessable in a multiple-choice format. These standards have been identified with the notation NA*. Though these standards are not assessed, they are important to the comprehension of the strand.
Questions:   California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress Office | | 916-445-8765
Last Reviewed: Thursday, June 30, 2016
Recently Posted in Testing