Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

History-Social Science Blueprint Preface

The following blueprints are for the California Standards Tests (CSTs) in history-social science that students take in grades eight, ten, and eleven. As the blueprints indicate, the test administered at grade eight assesses standards for grades six through eight and consists of 75 multiple-choice questions with an additional six field-test questions. The grade ten and eleven tests assess grade level standards. Each of these tests consists of 60 multiple-choice questions with an additional six field-test questions. It is also important to note:

  • The “History-Social Science Analysis Skills” standards in each grade are also tested and are concurrently embedded in 25% of the multiple-choice questions. No additional questions are used to test the “Skills” standards separately.  
  • The “# of Items” column shows the total number of questions for each strand. Also included is information about the emphasis assigned to each standard. The letter “A” indicates high emphasis, “B” medium, and “C” low. Some standards are not ranked for emphasis and are identified with an asterisk (*). 
  • The “%” column shows the percentage of questions assessing each strand.
  • A distinction is made between the descriptive statement that precedes each set of standards (i.e. 6.1, 6.2, 6.3, etc.) and the standards that are actually being assessed (i.e., 1, 2, 3, etc.).
Questions:   California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress Office | | 916-445-8765
Last Reviewed: Thursday, June 30, 2016
Recently Posted in Testing