AAV July 2009 Waiver Consent Item 5 Attachment 2
Seiad Elementary School District
Finding and Questioned Costs
For the Fiscal Year Ended June 30, 2008
2008-3 Instructional Time/State Code 10000
The District's fourth through eighth grade classes did not mee the State's instructional minute requirement.
The District was short by 1,910 minutes in each grade level listed above.
The District is subject to an instructional time penalty for not offering the 54,000 minutes requirement for the fourth through eighth grades. The schedule below shows the amount of questioned costs the District is required to return to the California Department of Education.
Number of minutes short: 1,910
Divided by number of required minutes: 54,000
Total ADA per grade span: 17.00
Total penalty per ADA: .04
Multiplied by deficit base revenue limit per ADA ($6,405.85): 256.23
Total Penalty due to CDE: $4,355.98
The District does not have procedures to verify their compliance with state requirements.
All schools districts must offer at least the amount of minutes it offered in 1982/1983. If a district fails to offer at least the amount of minutes offered in 1982/1983, then a penalty is assessed as outlined in Education Code Section 46202(b).
The District should increase the number of instructional minutes to the required minimum and establish and follow procedures for verifying their compliance with the state requirements. In addition the District should apply for a waiver with the California Department of Education.
District Response and Action Plan
The District will file a waiver with the California Department of Education and adjust bell schedules to meet the requirement.