Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

December 22, 2009 Draft Minutes

State of California
Arnold Schwarzenegger, Governor
1430 N Street, Suite 5111
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: 916-319-0827
Fax: 916-319-0175

Draft Minutes
Title I Committee of Practitioners (COP)

Tuesday, December 22, 2009
9:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.

California Department of Education
1430 N Street, Room 6303
Sacramento, CA 95814


Via Conference Call

Call to Order

The Meeting was called to order by Madam Vice Chair Zella Knight at 9:09 a.m.

Members Present by Phone

Jorge Cuevas-Antillon
Erick Fineberg
Olivia Leschick
Gail Monohon
Priscilla Murphy
Linda Nolasco

Members Present at CDE

Allison Adams
Jim Dilday
Cecelia Wilson

Members Absent

Ina Bendis
Raul Diaz
Greg Espinoza
Howard Lee
Cindy Mesaros
Balbina Rodriguez
Karen Ryback, Chair
Kim Shipp
Peggy Yarber

Staff Present

Julie Baltazar, Education Administrator I, Regional Coordination and Support Office (RCSO), California Department of Education (CDE)
Doug McDougall, Education Programs Consultant, RCSO, CDE and Chad Portney, Education Programs Consultant, School Support and Title I Basic Office, CDE

There was no one from the public in attendance for this meeting.

Announcements/General Discussion

The minutes from the July 30, 2009 meeting were approved with no changes.

Presentation of the federal guidance on the School Improvement Grant (SIG) application:

Presenter: Julie Baltazar provided an overview of the draft SIG application provided by the United States Department of Education. Questions from the members were responded to by the presenter.

Members approved to support the State Educational Agency to go forward with the request of the four waivers associated with the SIG application.

The committee had a discussion on the SIG application and has the following recommendations to the SBE:

  • Exclude schools currently participating in Quality Education Investment Act.
  • Exclude any school that has demonstrated growth in any subgroup over the previous seven years.
  • Define persistently low-achieving schools as those that have demonstrated flat-line growth or negative growth using the Academic Performance Index (API) over the previous seven years.
  • Ensure that a county office of education and/or an LEA be eligible to act as an education management organization (EMO).
  • The committee supports the SEA applying for the four waivers as part of the application to ED.

The committee members expressed the following concerns:

  • Lack of accountability for charter schools
  • The requirement that no more than 50 percent of schools may select the transformation model if an LEA that has more than nine schools
  • Need clarification concerning whether LEAs can use SIG funds to transport students as a result of selecting the school closure intervention model

Meeting was adjourned at 10:40 a.m.

Last Reviewed: Thursday, May 28, 2015

Share this Page

Recently Posted in Commissions & Committees