Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

2012 Acknowledgments

Listing of individuals who worked on the update and merge of the Recommended Literature: Pre-K-12 in 2012.

The Recommended Literature: Prekindergarten Through Grade Twelve (2012) was prepared by a team composed of library media teachers employed in schools and public libraries, teachers of children in kindergarten through grade twelve, curriculum planners, administrators, and parents. Below is a list of all team members.

[Note: The names and affiliations of the individuals listed here were current at the time of publishing this document in 2012.]

CDE Administration

Tom Torlakson, State Superintendent of Public Instruction
Richard Zeiger, Chief Deputy Superintendent of Public Instruction
Lupita Cortez-Alcala, Deputy Superintendent, Instruction and Learning Support Branch

CDE Steering Committee

Phil Lafontaine, Director, Professional Learning Support Division
Carrie Roberts, Education Administrator I, Literacy, History, and Arts Leadership Office
Roxane Fidler, Consultant, Literacy, History, and Arts Leadership Office
Cynthia Gunderson, Consultant, Curriculum Frameworks Office
Barbara Jeffus, School Library Consultant, Retired, Curriculum Frameworks Office
Larina Moreno, Analyst, Literacy, History, and Arts Leadership Office
Maxine Wheeler, Analyst, Mathematics and Science Leadership Office

2012 Working Committee

Sandra Biale, Teacher Librarian, Napa Valley Unified School District
Trish Birk, Teacher Librarian, Los Angeles Unified School District
Susan Bobadilla, Teacher, Long Beach Unified School District
Rickeena Boyd, Teacher, San Diego Unified School District
Tina Buster, Teacher, Los Angeles Unified School District
Kelly Capell, Teacher, Roseville Joint Unified School District
Christina Cicchetti, Education/Reference Librarian, University of CA Riverside
Marina Claudio-Perez, Youth Services Coordinator, San Diego Public Library
Michelle Cole, Teacher and Advisor, Roseville Joint Unified High School District
Joan Commons, Project Director, CaMSP Math, Cajon Valley Unified School District, on loan from University of CA San Diego
Vivian Cordoba, Principal, Los Angeles Unified School District
Karin Foster, Teacher on Special Assignment, Capistrano Unified School District
Judi Garratt, Teacher, Los Angeles Unified School District
Carin Garton, Principal, Benicia Unified School District
Meg Gillman, Teacher, San Juan Unified School District
Juan Gomez, Teacher and Math Instructional Coach, Carmel Unified School District
Katharine Goodwin, Retired Teacher Librarian, Center Unified School District
Sarah Greif, Teacher, Apple Valley Unified School District
Dana Grisham, Retired Adjunct Professor, National University
Jennifer Guy, Teacher, Irvine Unified School District
Michael Harris, Teacher, Chico Unified School District
Rya Hege, Teacher, Vista Unified School District
Susan Hemans, Teacher, Science Department Chair, Orange Unified School District
Cheryl Holcomb, Teacher, Arcadia Unified School District
Brian Jeffrey, Teacher, Chaffey Joint Union High School District
Scott Johnson, Teacher, Hesperia Unified School District
Kathy Jones, Teacher, Chico Unified School District
Anna Lane, Coordinator Library Media Services, Glenn County Office of Education
Kathlan Latimer, Lecturer, University of CA Davis
Melissa Lawson, Teacher, ELA Department Chair, Folsom-Cordova Unified School District
Jennifer Lew, Teacher, Davis Joint Unified School District
Christopher Lewis, Teacher, El Monte Unified High School District
Virginia Loh-Hagan, Author, Professor of Education, Ashford University
Cynthia MacDonald, Librarian, State Center Community College
Melinda Malaspino, Teacher, Vertical Team Leader, Folsom-Cordova Unified School District
Claudette McLinn, Executive Director, Center for the Study of Multicultural Children’s Literature
Kate MacMillan, Coordinator Library Media Services, Napa Valley Unified School District
Andrew Mullen, Professor, Chair of Department of Education, Westmont College
Richie Partington, Lecturer, San Jose State University School of Library and Information Science
Karen Pollack, ELA Department Chair and Teacher, Anaheim Unified School District
Anthony Quan, Faculty Advisor, University of CA Los Angeles
Leanne Raddatz, Teacher, Professional Development Leader and Professional Learning Community Lead, Kern High School District
Brigeen Radoicich, Retired Library Coordinator, Fresno County Office of Education
Nancy Reich, Retired Teacher Librarian, Los Angeles Unified School District
Tanya Richards, Library Media Teacher, Modesto City Schools
Jane Ritter, District Librarian, Mill Valley School District
Teresa Ann Rogers, Teacher, Barstow Unified School District
Martha Rowland, Library Services, Sacramento City Unified School District
Michael Sagehorn, Teacher, Antioch Unified School District
Amerika Sanchez, Substitute Teacher, Teachers on Reserve
Angelo Segalla, Professor of Math and Single Subject Advisor, CA State University Long Beach
Oscar Segovia, Teacher, Chaffey Joint Union High School District
Tracy Sprague, Teacher, District Literacy Coach, Professional Development Facilitator, Torrance Unified School District
Francie Teitelbaum, Teacher, Elk Grove Unified School District
Barbara Troisi, Retired Library Consultant and District Librarian, Kings Canyon Unified School District
Steve Trudeau, Teacher, Hesperia Unified School District
Linda Uithoven, Teacher, Redlands Unified School District
Heather Vennes, Teacher, ELA Department Chair, Oro Grande School District
Victoria Waddle, Teacher Librarian, Chaffey Joint Union High School District
James Watson, Teacher, Stockton Unified School District
Terri Wilson, Teacher, Kingsburg Charter Elementary School District
Peggy Sue Yarber, Truancy Coordinator, English Coach, WASC, Bakersfield City School District
Sandra Yoon, Coordinator Library Media Services, Bakersfield City School District

Special appreciation is extended to the following individuals for their contributions:

Kate Bowen, Teacher and consultant/program coordinator for the UC Davis History Project, Davis JUSD

Other CDE staff members who contributed to this document are:

Laurie Duresky, Senior Programmer Analyst Specialists, Application Development and Maintenance Office
Ali Hosseini, Senior Programmer Analyst Specialists, Application Development and Maintenance Office
Sam Lam, Senior Programmer Analyst Specialists, Application Development and Maintenance Office
John McLean, Associate Editor, CDE Press
Faye Ong, Associate Editor, CDE Press

Questions: Literature List Staff | | 916-323-6269 
Last Reviewed: Tuesday, June 6, 2017
Recently Posted in Curriculum Resources
  • School Library Standards (added 03-Jul-2017)
    Information about and resources to support the Model School Library Standards for California Public Schools adopted by State Board of Education in September 2010.