Skip to content
Printer-friendly version

Chapter 2: Labor Law Charts

Chapter 2 of the California Work Permit Handbook covering work permits.

Labor law charts, which outline state and federal laws and regulations state and federal laws and regulations concerning the employment of minors in California, may be located in the California Child Labor Laws Handbook. This publication of the California Department of Industrial Relations, Division of Labor Standards Enforcement contains comprehensive information about child labor laws, school attendance, wage, hour, and age requirements, restrictions, employer requirements and work permits.

Hours of Work

16 & 17 Year Olds 14 & 15 Year Olds 12 & 13 Year Olds
Must have completed 7th grade to work while school is in session (EC 49112) Must have completed 7th grade to work while school is in session (EC 49112)

Must have completed 6th grade to work while school is in session (EC 49112)

Labor laws prohibit non-farm employment of children younger than 14.  Special rules apply to agricultural work, domestic work in a private home, and the entertainment industry (LC 1285–1312)
Maximum Work Hours - School In Session
16 & 17 Year Olds 14 & 15 Year Olds 12 & 13 Year Olds

EC 49112, 49116; LC 1391)

8 hours on any non-schoolday
(EC 49112; LC 1391)

48 hours per week (LC 1391)

WEE and CVE students & personal attendants may work more than 4 hours on a schoolday, but never more than 8
(EC 49116; LC 1391, 1392)

3 hours per schoolday outside of school hours (EC 49112, 49116; LC 1391)
8 hours on any non-schoolday
18 hours per week (EC 49116; LC 1391)
WEE and CVE students may work during school hours and up to 23 hours per week
(EC 49116; LC 1391)

May be employed only during school holidays and vacations (usually construed to include weekends). May never be employed on any schoolday, either before or after school (EC 49111)

Exemptions pursuant to EC 49112 for 13 year olds consist of a maximum of 2 hours per schoolday and a maximum of 4 hours per week
Maximum Work Hours - School Not In Session
16 & 17 Year Olds 14 & 15 Year Olds 12 & 13 Year Olds

8 hours per day (LC 1391, 1392) 48 hours per week (LC 1391)

8 hours per day (LC 1391, 1392) 40 hours per week (LC 1391)

8 hours per day (LC 1391, 1392)
40 hours per week (LC 1391)

Spread of Hours
16 & 17 Year Olds 14 & 15 Year Olds 12 & 13 Year Olds

5 a.m.–10 p.m.  However, until 12:30 a.m. on any evening preceding a non-schoolday (LC 1391)

WEE and CVE students, with permission until 12:30 a.m. on any day (LC 1391.1) 

Messengers: 6 a.m.–9 p.m.

7 a.m.–7 p.m., except from June 1 through Labor Day, until 9 p.m. (LC 1391) 7 a.m.–7 p.m., except from June 1 through Labor Day, until 9 p.m. (LC 1391)

Labor law charts found in the California Child Labor Laws Handbook (PDF) External link opens in new window or tab. are only summaries. Special rules or regulations may not be included in these charts. For more information regarding California labor laws, the reader should consult the Department of Industrial Relations, Division of Labor Standards Enforcement. For more specific information concerning federal regulations and the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) External link opens in new window or tab. , contact the U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division.

Related Content
Questions: Erle Hall | ehall@cde.ca.gov | 916-323-2564 
Download Free Readers