Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

Arts Education Task Force

Coalition of agencies and organizational partners on an education reform movement Core Reforms Engaging Arts to Educate CA that views arts education as an essential part of the solution to the problems facing CA schools.
  • Co-Chair: Craig Cheslog, Principal Advisor to the State Superintendent of Public Instruction, California Department of Education
  • Co-Chair: Malissa Feruzzi-Shriver, Chair, California Arts Council
  • Wylie Aitken, Founding Partner, Aitken-Aitken-Cohn
  • Kristine Alexander, Executive Director, The California Arts Project
  • Sarah Anderberg, Director, California County Superintendents Educational Services Association Statewide Arts Initiative
  • Jessica Bianchi, Art Therapist, Aviva Family and Children's Services
  • Joni Binder Shwarts, President, Modern Art Council, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Anne Bown-Crawford, Director, Arcata Arts Institute
  • William Bronston, Chief Executive Officer, Sacramento Sierra Digital Arts Studio Partnership
  • Liane Brouillette, Associate Professor, University of California, Irvine
  • Robert Bullwinkel, Visual and Performing Arts Coordinator, Fresno County Office of Education
  • James Catterall, Principal Investigator, Center for Research on Creativity at CalArts
  • William Cirone, Superintendent, Santa Barbara County Office of Education
  • Rosette Costello, Principal, Peralta Elementary School
  • Sarah Cunningham, Executive Director of Research, Virginia Commonwealth University School of the Arts
  • Heather DiMaggio, Teacher, James Madison Elementary School
  • John Eger, Professor, San Diego State University
  • Kaileena Flores-Emnace, Gallery Educator, Museum of Contemporary Art
  • Julie Fry, Program Officer, Performing Arts, The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation
  • Mary Galuska, Co-Chairman, Special Committee for Arts Education, California State PTA
  • Benjamin Gertner, Principal, School of Communications, New Media and Technology (Roosevelt High School)
  • Kristen Greer-Paglia, Executive Director, Education and Programs, P.S. Arts
  • Shana Habel, Past President, California Dance Education Association
  • Brenda Harris, Education Programs Consultant, California Department of Education
  • Donn Harris, Executive and Artistic Director, Oakland School for the Arts
  • Sharon Herpin, Senior Research Associate, WestEd
  • Frank Heuser, Associate Professor of Music Education, UCLA
  • Ronald Jessee, Coordinator, Visual and Performing Arts Department, San Diego County Office of Education
  • Gai Jones, California Educational Theatre Association (CETA)
  • Amarpal Khanna, Director of Visual and Performing Arts, ICEF Public Schools
  • Sabrina Klein, Executive Director, Teaching Artists Organized (TAO)
  • Allison Kleinsteuber, Visual Art Educator, Golden West High School
  • Susan Lafferty, Director of Education, The Huntington Library
  • Joe Landon, Executive Director, California Alliance for Arts Education
  • Terry Lenihan, Associate Professor in Art Education, Director of Teacher Preparation of Art, Loyola Marymount University
  • Robert Lenz, Chief Executive Officer, Envision Schools of California
  • Tami Lincoln, President, California Art Education Association (CAEA)
  • Robin Lithgow, Administrative Coordinator, Arts Education Branch, Los Angeles Unified School District
  • Julia Marshall, Professor, Art Department, San Francisco State University
  • Robin Mencher, Director, Education & Media Learning, KQED
  • Jack Mitchell, Secondary Arts Consultant, California Department of Education
  • Sarah Murr, Community Investor, Arts & Culture, The Boeing Company
  • Louise Music, Visual & Performing Arts Learning Coordinator, Alameda County Office of Education
  • Chike Nwoffiah, Executive Director, Oriki Theater
  • Dain Olsen, Co-Founder/Instructor in Media Arts, ArtLAB High School
  • Adam Philipson, Managing Director, Santa Clarita Performing Arts Center
  • Janice Pober, Senior Vice President Global Corporate Social Responsibility, SONY Pictures Entertainment
  • Larry Powell, Superintendent, Fresno County Office of Education
  • Travis Preston, Dean, School of Theater, California Institute of the Arts
  • Susan Raudry, Principal, Accelerated Charter Elementary School (ACES)
  • Kim Richards, Principal, KDR PR
  • David Sears, Senior Director of Education, The Grammy Foundation
  • Stacey Shelnut-Hendrick , Director of Education, Crocker Art Museum
  • Raymond Shields, General Manager, Social Enterprise Division, Watts Labor Community Action Committee
  • Amy Shimson-Santo, Lecturer and Visiting Scholar, University of California, Irvine
  • Mark Slavkin, Vice President for Education, Music Center: Performing Arts Center of Los Angeles County
  • Kimber Smith, Director, Blacksmith Creative
  • Russell Sperling, President-Elect, California Association for Music Education (CMEA)
  • Mary Stone Hanley, Assistant Professor, George Mason University
  • Craig Watson, Director, California Arts Council
  • Ann Wettrich, Adjunct Faculty, California College of the Arts
  • Lauren Widney, Education and Community Program Manager, San Diego Youth Symphony and Conservatory
  • Anita Wiglesworth, Director of Programming, Wells Fargo Center for the Arts
  • Shannon Wilkins, Consultant in Charge of Educational Leadership and Visual and Performing Arts, Los Angeles County Office of Education
  • Lisa M. Gonzales, Coordinator, Visual & Performing Arts, Santa Clara County Office of Education


Questions:   Jason Spencer || 916-319-0800
Last Reviewed: Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Recently Posted in Initiatives & Programs
  • California Safe Haven School Districts List (added 05-Apr-2017)
    A list of California school districts that call themselves Safe Havens.
  • Safe Havens (added 05-Apr-2017)
    Safe Havens are school districts, county offices of education, and direct-funded charter schools that have committed to reassuring students, parents, and educators that they are all welcome regardless of immigration status.