Skip to content
Printer-friendly version

Pupil Transportation Fees Letter

Letter Head: Jack O'Connell, State Superintendent of Public Instruction, California Department of Education

July 20, 2007

Dear County and District Superintendents and Chief Business Officials:

FEES FOR PUPIL TRANSPORTATION

The governing board of any school district that provides for the transportation of pupils to and from school, in accordance with California Education Code (EC) Section 39807.5, may require all or some of the parents and guardians to pay a portion of the transportation costs. Fee amounts are determined by the governing board and “shall be no greater than the statewide average non-subsidized cost of providing this transportation to a pupil on a publicly owned or operated transit system.” For the purpose of this section, “non-subsidized cost” means actual operating costs less federal subsidies.

Maximum Rates

The State Superintendent of Public Instruction, in cooperation with the Department of Transportation, is required to determine the maximum amount of fees that parents or guardians may be charged for pupil transportation (EC  Section 39807.5). The maximum rates apply to pupil transportation for regular day students, and students in regular full-time occupational training classes as provided by a regional occupational center or program.

The maximum allowable rates below are expressed on a "cost per passenger trip" basis. The daily round trip pupil transportation cost is twice the cost per passenger trip rate.

Cost per passenger trip: $3.85

Daily round trip cost: $7.70

Limit on Total Fees Collected

The sum of state aid received and the parent fees collected in a fiscal year shall not exceed the actual operating costs of pupil transportation in the same fiscal year

(EC  Section 39809.5). In computing whether excess fees were collected by a school district in a fiscal year, any fee revenue plus state transportation apportionments received by the district should be subtracted from the approved transportation costs for both home-to-school and special education reported on the Annual Report of Pupil Transportation, electronic data processing (EDP) numbers 130 and 133, for that fiscal year. If the result is a negative number, then excess fees were collected and the school district must reduce its fees in succeeding years. In addition, the school district should also certify to the county superintendent that the school district levied fees in accordance with law, and where appropriate, fees have been reduced and excess fees eliminated (EC Section 39809.5).

Exclusions and Limitations

Information regarding exclusions and limitations is referenced in the enclosed Program Advisory adopted by the State Board of Education on June 9, 1995, which specifically addresses the school transportation fee exemption for handicapped children and pupils whose parents or guardians are indigent.

If you have questions concerning the information provided in this letter, please contact Sue Cervantes, Fiscal Analyst, Categorical Programs Unit, at (916) 327-4406 or by e-mail at Sucervantes@cde.ca.gov. [Note, the preceding contact information is no longer valid and has been replaced by Christina Kersey, Fiscal Consultant, at 916-324-9806 or by e-mail at ckersey@cde.ca.gov.] [Note, the preceding contact information is no longer valid and has been replaced by Julie Klein Briggs, Fiscal Consultant, Categorical Allocations & Management Assistance Unit, by phone at 916-323-6191 or by e-mail at jbriggs@cde.ca.gov.]

Sincerely,

 

Scott Hannan, Director
School Fiscal Services Division

Download Free Readers