Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

Fees for Pupil Transportation FY 2012-13

California Department of Education
Official Letter
California Department of Education
Official Letter

March 16, 2012

Dear County Superintendents of Schools:

FEES FOR PUPIL TRANSPORTATION

The governing board of any school district that provides transportation of pupils to and from school, in accordance with California Education Code (EC) Section 39807.5, may require parents and guardians to pay a portion of the transportation costs with two exceptions as discussed below. Fee amounts are determined by the governing board and shall be no greater than the statewide average non-subsidized cost of providing this transportation to a pupil on a publicly owned or operated transit system. For the purpose of this section, non-subsidized cost means actual operating costs less federal subsidies.

Maximum Rates

The State Superintendent of Public Instruction, in cooperation with the Department of Transportation, is required to determine the maximum amount of fees that parents or guardians may be charged for pupil transportation (EC Section 39807.5). The maximum rates apply to pupil transportation for regular day students, and students in regular full-time occupational training classes as provided by a regional occupational center or program.

The maximum allowable rates below are expressed on a "cost per passenger trip" basis. The daily round trip pupil transportation cost is twice the cost per passenger trip rate.

Cost per passenger trip:     $4.41
Daily round trip cost:            $8.82

Limit on Total Fees Collected

The sum of state aid received and the parent fees collected in a fiscal year shall not exceed the actual operating costs of pupil transportation in the same fiscal year (EC Section 39809.5). In computing whether excess fees were collected by a school district in a fiscal year, any fee revenue plus state transportation apportionments received by the district should be subtracted from the combined approved transportation costs for both home-to-school and special education reported on the Annual Report of Pupil Transportation, electronic data processing (EDP) numbers 130 and 133, for that fiscal year. If the result is a negative number, then excess fees were collected and the school district must reduce its fees in succeeding years. In addition, the school district should also certify to the county superintendent that the school district levied fees in accordance with law, and where appropriate, fees have been reduced and excess fees eliminated (EC Section 39809.5).

Exclusions and Limitations

State law requires district governing boards to exempt certain pupils from any transportation fee, specifically:

1) Individuals with exceptional needs whose individualized education program requires the local educational agency to provide transportation services (EC Section 39807.5[e]), and

2) Pupils whose parents or guardians are indigent as set forth in rules and regulations adopted by the governing board (EC Section 39807.5[d]).

If you have questions regarding the information provided in this letter, please contact Christina Kersey, Assistant Fiscal Consultant, Categorical Allocations and Management Assistance, by phone at 916-324-9806 or by e-mail at ckersey@cde.ca.gov [Note: the preceding contact information is no longer valid and has been replaced by Julie Klein Briggs, Fiscal Consultant, Categorical Allocations & Management Assistance Unit, by phone at 916-323-6191 or by e-mail at jbriggs@cde.ca.gov.]

Sincerely,

Scott Hannan, Director
School Fiscal Services Division

Last Reviewed: Tuesday, June 16, 2015

Share this Page

Recently Posted in Allocations & Apportionments

  • Principal Apportionment, Fiscal Year 2016-17 (added 02-May-2016)
    Distribution of funds for local educational agencies (LEAs) in support of the public school system. Includes elementary school, high school and unified school districts; charter schools; and county offices of education.
  • PENSEC, FY 2016-17 (added 02-May-2016)
    Pupil Estimates for New or Significantly Expanding Charters (PENSEC) includes estimated average daily attendance (ADA) and other pupil counts for fiscal year (FY) 2016-17.
  • Report to the Legislature, FY 15-16 P1 (PDF) (added 28-Apr-2016)
    Report to the Legislature of First Principal Apportionment for fiscal year 2015-16.
  • First Principal Apportionment 2015-16 (added 28-Apr-2016)
    Executive Summary of the Legislative Report for the First Principal Apportionment for fiscal year 2015-16.
  • Child Development and State Preschool Programs (PDF) (added 20-Apr-2016)
    CDFS Reporting Form 2759, Child Care and Development contractors operating a Center-based (Public and Private Program(s)), and California State Preschool Program(s) requesting a transfer of funds.

  • Application for Contingency Funds (PDF) (added 20-Apr-2016)
    The California Department of Education shall reallocate funds as necessary to reimbursement alternative programs for actual and allowable costs incurred for additional services.
  • EstCashFlow-15: Select Programs (XLS) (added 08-Apr-2016)
    Estimated Cash Flow for select programs for fiscal year 2015-16.
  • Ltr2-15: First Quarter Lottery (added 30-Mar-2016)
    Second Quarter Lottery Apportionment letter for fiscal year 2015-16.
  • LCFF Gap and COLA (PDF) (added 18-Mar-2016)
    Information on historical and prospective Local Control Funding Formula (LCFF) cost-of-living adjustment (COLA) percentages, gap budget allocations and percentage factors since 2013–14, the inception of LCFF.
  • LCFF Gap and COLA (added 18-Mar-2016)
    Information on historical and prospective Local Control Funding Formula (LCFF) cost-of-living adjustment (COLA) percentages, gap budget allocations and percentage factors since 2013–14, the inception of LCFF.