Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

Fees for Pupil Transportation FY 2013-14

California Department of Education
Official Letter
California Department of Education
Official Letter
May 28, 2013

Dear County Superintendents of Schools:

FEES FOR PUPIL TRANSPORTATION

The governing board of any school district that provides transportation of pupils to and from school, in accordance with California Education Code (EC) Section 39807.5, may require parents and guardians to pay a portion of the transportation costs with two exceptions as discussed below. Fee amounts are determined by the governing board and shall be no greater than the statewide average non-subsidized cost of providing this transportation to a pupil on a publicly owned or operated transit system. For the purpose of this section, non-subsidized cost means actual operating costs less federal subsidies.

Maximum Rates

The State Superintendent of Public Instruction, in cooperation with the Department of Transportation, is required to determine the maximum amount of fees that parents or guardians may be charged for pupil transportation (EC Section 39807.5). The maximum rates apply to pupil transportation for regular day students, and students in regular full-time occupational training classes as provided by a regional occupational center or program.

The maximum allowable rates below are expressed on a "cost per passenger trip" basis. The daily round trip pupil transportation cost is twice the cost per passenger trip rate.

Cost per passenger trip: $4.54
Daily round trip cost: $9.08

Limit on Total Fees Collected

The sum of state aid received and the parent fees collected in a fiscal year shall not exceed the actual operating costs of pupil transportation in the same fiscal year (EC Section 39809.5). In computing whether excess fees were collected by a school district in a fiscal year, any fee revenue plus state transportation apportionments received by the district should be subtracted from the combined approved transportation costs for both home-to-school and special education reported on the Annual Report of Pupil Transportation, electronic data processing (EDP) numbers 130 and 133, for that fiscal year. If the result is a negative number, then excess fees were collected and the school district must reduce its fees in succeeding years. In addition, the school district should also certify to the county superintendent that the school district levied fees in accordance with law, and where appropriate, fees have been reduced and excess fees eliminated (EC Section 39809.5).

Exclusions and Limitations

State law requires district governing boards to exempt certain pupils from any transportation fee, specifically:

1) Individuals with exceptional needs whose individualized education program requires the local educational agency to provide transportation services (EC Section 39807.5[e]), and

2) Pupils whose parents or guardians are indigent as set forth in rules and regulations adopted by the governing board (EC Section 39807.5[d]).

If you have questions regarding the information provided in this letter, please contact Julie Klein Briggs, Fiscal Consultant, Categorical Allocations and Management Assistance, by phone at 916-323-6191 or by e-mail at jbriggs@cde.ca.gov.

Sincerely,

 

Peter Foggiato, Director
School Fiscal Services Division

Last Reviewed: Thursday, June 18, 2015

Recently Posted in Allocations & Apportionments

  • College Readiness Block Grant (updated 24-Aug-2016)
    Funding to provide California high school pupils, particularly unduplicated pupils, additional supports to increase the number who enroll at institutions of higher education and complete an undergraduate degree within four years.
  • Revenue and Expenditure Report for Child Developme (XLS) (added 17-Aug-2016)
    CDFS Reporting Form 9529 CCIP, Child Care and Development for CCIP Contracts.
  • Reserve Account Activity Report (XLS) (added 17-Aug-2016)
    CDFS Reporting Form 9530-A, Child Care and Development contractors who have a Letter of Intent on file with the California Department of Education, Child Care and Development contractors who have a Letter of Intent on file wi
  • Reporting Forms 2016-17 (added 17-Aug-2016)
    Attendance and fiscal reporting forms and other Child Development forms and letters for Fiscal Year 2016-17.
  • Special Programs for the Severely Handicapped (XLS) (added 17-Aug-2016)
    CDFS Reporting Form 1400, Care and Development contractors operating Special Program(s) for the Severely Handicapped.

  • Child Development Programs (XLS) (added 17-Aug-2016)
    CDFS Reporting Form 9500, Child Care and Development contractors operating a Center-based (Public and Private Program(s)), and/or Migrant Programs.
  • Child Development Programs High Rate Contract (XLS) (added 17-Aug-2016)
    CDFS Reporting Form 9500HR, Child Care and Development contractors operating a center-based (Public and Private Program(s)), and/or Migrant Program(s) who have a rate that exceeds the Standard Reimbursement Rate (SRR).
  • State Preschool Programs ? Child Development (XLS) (added 17-Aug-2016)
    CDNFS Reporting Form 8501, Child Care and Development contractors operating a California State Preschool Program(s).
  • California State Preschool Programs (XLS) (added 17-Aug-2016)
    CDFS Reporting Form 8501HR, Child Care and Development contractors operating a California State Preschool Program(s) who have a rate that exceeds the Standard Reimbursement Rate (SRR).
  • Resource and Referral Programs or Centralized Elig (XLS) (added 17-Aug-2016)
    CDFS Reporting Form 2507, Child Care and Development contractors providing Resource and Referral services or Centralized Eligibility List contracts.