Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

Contact the Expanded Learning Division

Contact information for the After School Education and Safety (ASES) Program and the 21st Century Community Learning Centers (CCLC) Program.

Expanded Learning Division

Phone: 916-319-0923
Fax: 916-319-0221

Administration

Michael Funk, Director
916-319-0923
mfunk@cde.ca.gov

Lynell Johnson, Executive Secretary
916-319-0618
ljohnson@cde.ca.gov

Heather Williams, Strategic Initiatives Coordinator
916-319-0478
hwilliams@cde.ca.gov

Onda Johnson, Co-Administrator
916-319-0923
ojohnson@cde.ca.gov

Don Taylor, Co-Administrator
916-324-6173
dtaylor@cde.ca.gov

Beth Lopez, Staff Services Manager
916-319-0614
blopez@cde.ca.gov

Ella Graham, Staff Services Manager
916-319-0210
egraham@cde.ca.gov

John Waters, Office Technician
916-319-0719
jwaters@cde.ca.gov

Lori Eszlinger, Office Technician
916-319-0721
leszlinger@cde.ca.gov

Analysts

Andrea Shumate
916-445-5620
ashumate@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program grants (fiscal assistance to Regions 2 and 6).

Barbara Bell
916-319-0289
Bbell@cde.ca.gov
ASSIST/Division Data Maintenance (fiscal analyst to Region 7).

Deborah Denico
916-319-0215
ASES and 21st CCLC Program grants (fiscal analyst to Region 5).

Fred Sharp
916-319-0720
fsharp@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program grants (fiscal assistance to Region 11, grants A - Li).

Janet Henner
916-319-0544
jhenner@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program grants (fiscal assistance to Regions 1 and 4).

Karissa Lujan
916-319-0620
klujan@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program grants (fiscal assistance to Region 11, grants Lo - Z).

Kimi Toya
916-0601
ktoya@cde.ca.gov
GAME Office Analyst

Nora Reed
916-327-5928
nreed@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program grants (fiscal assistance to Region 9), Federal Program Monitoring (FPM).

Paul Simpson-Jones
916-319-0211
pjones@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program grants (fiscal assistance to Region 10, ASSIST).

Veronica Maestas
916-319-0540
vmaestas@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program grants (fiscal assistance to Region 3).

Consultants

Anissa Sonnenburg
916-319-0632
asonnenburg@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant.

Corlene Goi
916-319-0314
cgoi@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 3.

Fred Buggs
916-445-4577
fbuggs@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 8

Iqbal Badwalz, MBA, CPA
916-319-0732
ibadwalz@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 4.

Jen Taylor
916-323-1027
jetaylor@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 5.

Joshua Brady, M.Ed.
916-319-0206
jbrady@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 9; health promotion, nutrition, and physical activity.

Johannes Troost, Consultant
916-319-0351
jtroost@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 7.

Kelly Faustino
916-319-0264
kfaustino@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Regions 1 and 2.

Kim Hanks
916-319-0547
khanks@cde.ca.gov
Staff to Advisory Committee on Before and After School Programs.

Lisa McClung, Ph.D.
916-319-0290
lmcclung@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant.

Mignonne Pollard
916-319-0200
mpollard@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 11.

Susie Morikawa
916-319-0537
smorikawa@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 6.

Tavi Guimarães Popp
916-319-0308
tpopp@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant.

Yvonne Evans
916-319-0623
yevans@cde.ca.gov
ASES and 21st CCLC Program Consultant for Region 10.

Questions: Expanded Learning Division | expandedlearning@cde.ca.gov | 916-319-0923 
Last Reviewed: Friday, December 2, 2016
Recently Posted in Before & After School
  • Quality Improvement Plan Instructions (DOC) (added 30-Nov-2016)
    Instructions for the quality improvement plan.
  • Quality Improvement Plan (DOC) (added 30-Nov-2016)
    Expanded learning programs quality improvement plan template.
  • 21st CCLC FAQ (DOC) (added 08-Nov-2016)
    Frequently asked questions about the 21st Century Community Learning Centers Expanded Learning Programs.