Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

State Meal Mandate Waiver Request Deadline


Nutrition Services Division Management Bulletin

Purpose: Policy, Action Required, Beneficial Information

To: Public School Districts and County Offices of Education

Number: NSD-SNP-19-2012

Attention: Superintendents, Principals, and Food Service Director

Date: November 2012

Subject: Statutory Change to the State Meal Mandate Waiver Request Deadline

Reference: Assembly Bill 2555 (Carter, Statutes of 2012), California Education Code sections 33050, 49548, and 49550

This Management Bulletin (MB) alerts school districts and county superintendents of schools of a change to California Education Code (EC) Section 49548, which provides a mechanism to request a waiver to EC Section 49550, known as the State Meal Mandate, during summer school. Only local educational agencies (LEA) that plan to submit requests to waive the State Meal Mandate need to take action.

Previous Law

EC Section 49548 allowed districts and county superintendents of schools to submit meal waiver requests no later than 30 days prior to the last State Board of Education (SBE) meeting that occurs prior to the commencement of a district or county office of education’s summer school session.

New Law

Assembly Bill 2555, chaptered on September 19, 2012, amended EC Section 49548 to require that LEAs submit their waiver requests no later than 60 days prior to the last SBE meeting that occurs prior to the commencement of a district or county office of education’s summer school session. The amended EC Section 49558 may be read on the California Legislative Information Web page at http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=EDC&sectionNum=49558.

Implementation

Beginning January 1, 2013, all waiver requests of the State Meal Mandate under EC Section 49548 are due no later than 60 days prior to the last regular meeting of the SBE before the commencement of the summer school session for which the waiver is sought. Interested LEAs must submit requests to the California Department of Education’s (CDE) Waiver Office by the respective due date.

Please note that the CDE has implemented a new online waiver request process and will no longer accept hard copy/paper waiver requests. For more information on the waiver process, visit the CDE Waivers Web page at http://www.cde.ca.gov/re/lr/wr/.

If you have any questions about this MB, please contact Donna Reedy, School Nutrition Programs Analyst, by phone at 916-323-2247 or 800-952-5609, or by e-mail at dreedy@cde.ca.gov.

Questions:   Nutrition Services Division | 800-952-5609
Last Reviewed: Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Related Content
Recently Posted in Nutrition

  • DCH Meal Benefit Form for Providers (DOC) (added 06-Mar-2017)
    Day care home provider application for Tier I reimbursement and/or claiming meals served to children living in the provider's household.
  • Prior Approval for CACFP Allowable Costs (added 27-Feb-2017)
    Management Bulletin CACFP-03-2017: Prior Approval for Child and Adult Care Food Program Allowable Costs.
  • CNIPS Training Registration (added 14-Feb-2017)
    Information about CDE-sponsored courses, training locations, and registrations are available on the CNIPS Training Registration Web page. This Web page is accessed from the CNIPS Home Page by selecting the Training Registration link.
  • Food Service Management Company Rebids 2017-18 (added 14-Feb-2017)
    School Food Authorities required to rebid Food Service Management Company contracts for School Year 2017-18.
  • Two-cent Differential Reimbursement for New SFAs (added 30-Jan-2017)
    MB SNP-04-2017, USDA Policy Memo SP 30-2014: Determining Eligibility for Two-cent Differential Reimbursement and SP 23-2005: Eligibility for Severe Need Rates for the School Breakfast Program.