January 24, 2011
State Schools Chief Torlakson Announces Deadline
Extension for Heritage School Registration
SACRAMENTO—State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson today announced that the California Department of Education (CDE) has extended the registration period for heritage schools through February 28 to assure ample time for institutions to participate in the new process.
Legislation by state Senators Bob Huff (R-Diamond Bar) and Leland Yee (D-San Francisco) requires heritage schools to register annually online with the California Department of Education in order to exempt them from licensure by the State Department of Social Services as a child day care center.
The law defines heritage schools as programs that serve public and private school children aged between 4 years, 9 months and 18 years old by providing out-of-school time activities focused on the language, culture, and traditions of a foreign country.
While the registration process, which began January 1, does not constitute an evaluation or approval process, it does impose health, safety, operational, and parent notification requirements that heritage schools agree to follow by registering.
For information on heritage schools and the registration process, please visit Heritage School Registration Information - Heritage Schools.
# # # #
Tom Torlakson —
State Superintendent of Public Instruction
Communications Division, Room 5602, 916-319-0818, Fax 916-319-0100