Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo
California Department of Education News Release
California Department of Education
News Release
Release: #12-4
January 10, 2012
Contact: Pam Slater
Phone: 916-319-0818

State Schools Chief Tom Torlakson Nominates
35 California Schools for National Blue Ribbon Honor

SACRAMENTO—State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson today announced the selection of 35 public schools as California's nominees to the 2012 National Blue Ribbon Schools Program (BRSP), which recognizes some of the highest-performing and most improved schools in the nation. The list of schools is attached.

"These schools all share a deep commitment to the education and well-being of their students," said Torlakson. "We've recognized them on the state level, and now I hope their outstanding work and remarkable progress will be further spotlighted nationally."

Each year the U.S. Department of Education outlines the categories for nomination. In 2012 there are two categories:

Exemplary High-Performing Schools: Schools that achieve at least the 85th percentile statewide in the percent of students scoring proficient or advanced in English-language arts and mathematics on the state assessments. Schools nominated in this category may or may not have at least 40 percent of their students from disadvantaged backgrounds.

Exemplary Improving Schools: Schools with at least 40 percent of their students from a disadvantaged background that are also among the top 10 percent of schools in the state showing the greatest improvement in the percent of students scoring proficient or advanced in ELA and mathematics on the state assessments over the last five years.

To be eligible for preliminary nomination for the 2012 award, a school must have made the federal goals as outlined in Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) in 2011 and 2010 and also made its state Academic Performance Index (API) targets (school-wide and for all numerically significant student groups) in 2011 and 2010.

For final nomination as a 2012 BRSP, a school must meet all of its 2012 API and AYP targets, including those for the school overall and for all numerically significant student groups. The final nomination check is completed in August/September of 2012.

Based on student population, California may nominate up to 35 qualified schools each year.

The National BRSP is part of a larger U. S. Department of Education effort to identify and disseminate knowledge about best school leadership and teaching practices. For more information on the federal program, please visit: Awards - Blue Ribbon Schools Program [] External link opens in new window or tab..


California's 2012 National Blue Ribbon School Nominees
(Amended 1-19-12*)





Oakland Unified

Fred T. Korematsu Discovery Academy


Fremont Unified

J. Haley Durham Elementary


Fremont Unified

William Hopkins Junior High

Los Angeles

Glendale Unified

Anderson W. Clark Magnet High

Los Angeles

Bonita Unified

Arma J. Shull Elementary

Los Angeles

Arcadia Unified

Baldwin Stocker Elementary

Los Angeles

Torrance Unified

Bert M. Lynn Middle

Los Angeles

Los Angeles Unified

Clover Avenue Elementary

Los Angeles

East Whittier City Elementary

Evergreen Elementary

Los Angeles

ABC Unified

Joe A. Gonsalves Elementary

Los Angeles


Stevenson Ranch Elementary


Soledad Unified

Frank Ledesma Elementary*


Orange Unified

Fairhaven Elementary


Irvine Unified

Lakeside Middle


Santa Ana Unified

Manuel Esqueda Elementary

Orange Santa Ana Unified Martin Luther King, Jr. Elementary*


Los Alamitos Unified

Sharon Christa McAuliffe Middle


Fullerton Joint Union High

Sunny Hills High


Menifee Union Elementary

Evans Ranch Elementary

San Bernardino

Redlands Unified

Judson & Brown Elementary

San Bernardino

San Bernardino City Unified

Lytle Creek Elementary

San Diego

San Diego Unified

Edison Elementary

San Diego

Chula Vista Elementary

Palomar Elementary

San Diego

San Diego Unified

San Diego International Studies

San Francisco

San Francisco Unified

Alice Fong Yu Alternative School

San Francisco

San Francisco Unified

Lowell High

San Luis Obispo

San Luis Coastal Unified

Teach Elementary

San Mateo

Redwood City Elementary

North Star Academy

San Mateo

Woodside Elementary

Woodside Elementary

Santa Clara

Palo Alto Unified

Herbert Hoover Elementary

Santa Clara

Santa Clara Unified

Millikin Elementary

Santa Clara

Los Altos Elementary

Oak Avenue Elementary

Santa Clara

Cupertino Union

R. I. Meyerholz Elementary


Ventura Unified

Foothill Technology High


Plumas Lake School Elementary

Rio Del Oro Elementary *

 * New schools added

# # # #

Tom Torlakson — State Superintendent of Public Instruction
Communications Division, Room 5206, 916-319-0818, Fax 916-319-0100

Last Reviewed: Monday, June 1, 2015

Recently Posted in News Releases