Skip to content
Printer-friendly version

Higher Education Support for Teachers

Higher Education Support for Teachers for the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards.

National Board for Professional Teaching Standards

Institutions of higher education are developing courses and degree programs aligned with the standards of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS), and some campuses offer support groups for candidates. Please contact the individuals listed below for specific details and current information. Please send an e-mail with updated information to Juliet Barbero at jbarbero@cde.ca.gov.

Institution Description Contact Information
Alliant University Incorporating NBPTS into courses. Offers a candidate support program. Dr. Trudy Day
415-955-2102
tday@alliant.edu
Cal Poly - Pomona Master's degree that incorporates NBPTS propositions N/A
Cal Poly - San Luis Obispo Candidate support Roberta Herter
rherter@calpoly.edu
California State University (CSU) - Bakersfield Developing a support program for NB candidates Mahmoud Suleiman
661-664-3032
msuleiman@csub.edu
CSU - Dominguez Hills Implementing degree programs with NBPTS standards Dr. Cynthia Grutzik
cgrutzik@csudh.edu
CSU - Fullerton Offer support for candidates not enrolled in the university as well as offer National Board options for students in Master's programs in Secondary Education, Science Education, and Special Education. Kim Norman
714-278-2745
knorman@fullerton.edu

Tara Barnhart
tbarnhart@fullerton.edu
CSU - Hayward Master's degree program in teacher leadership Margaret Desmond
mdesmond@csuhayward.edu
CSU - Los Angeles Master's degree in Secondary Curriculum & Instruction aligns with NB standards and provides option to pursue NB certification as culminating project with support from faculty and NB certified teachers. Norman Unrau
nunrau@calstatela.edu
CSU - Monterey Bay Working to incorporate NB courses into existing Master's degree program Bev Carter
831-582-5024
CSU - Northridge Support program and financial assistance. Master's degree programs in alignment with NB standards. Virginia Kennedy
virginia.kennedy@csun.edu
CSU - San Marcos Master's degree program and candidate support Robin Marion
rmarion@csusm.edu

Alice Quiocho
aquiocho@csusm.edu
CSU - Stanislaus Master's degree program in development Pamela Russ
209-667-3357
pruss@csustan.edu
National University CA NBCT Professional Teaching Development Center External link opens in new window or tab. NBC professional development for schools, principals and teachers, CEUs, and graduate programs for teachers and principals preparing for and seeking Teacher and Principal Certification; Three, 10 month Master's program devoted to NBCT evidence based portfolio development; Take One! Grad credit; support options - onsite, appointments, virtual network membership, online coursework; NBCT coaches for new teachers and active candidates; NBCT adjunct faculty and consultants, nationwide cohorts; celebrations. Rae Adams
State and National Director
858-642-8352 or
858-735-1129
radams@nu.edu
Simpson University Provides a Master of Arts in Teaching with an emphasis on preparation for NBC. Two-year program. Mentoring provided by NBC teachers. Dr. Glee Brooks
530-226-4188
Sonoma State University Grad units to prepare for certification. Units apply to a master's degree in education Kathy Morris
707-664-3266
kathy.morris@sonoma.edu
National Board Resource Center at Stanford University External link opens in new window or tab. Candidate support program with optional continuing education units. Sandy Dean
650-724-7349
sdean1@stanford.edu
Teachers College of San Joaquin Master's degree that incorporates preparation for National Board certification. Diane Carnahan
209-953-2114
dcarnahan@sjcoe.net
UC Los Angeles (UCLA) - Center X Offers one- and two-year support programs that provide guidance through the certification process. Carrie Usui
UCLA NBPTS Project
usui@gseis.ucla.edu

Bettye Scott
Program Coordinator
bscott@gseis.ucla.edu
UC Riverside Candidate support provided through the Exemplary Teaching Certificate Program developed to prepare teachers for NB Certification. Sue Teele
steele@ucx.ucr.edu

Mary Ellen Gruendyke
mgruendyke@ucx.ucr.edu

Return to top

Questions: Judy Sinclair | jsinclair@cde.ca.gov | 916-323-5846