Skip to content
Printer-friendly version

California Support Groups


National Board for Professional Teaching Standards

If you are interested in becoming a candidate for national certification, you may want to find a network of other teachers to work with during your candidacy. Many National Board Certified teachers cite the important role of their colleagues during the portfolio process. National Board certification is designed to be collaborative: colleagues provide critical reflection, help build professional knowledge, and lend emotional and logistical support. The following are a variety of support groups available in California. Additionally, individual school districts offer local support groups. Subject Matter Projects External link opens in new window or tab. throughout California are also involved in providing support for National Board candidates.

California Professional Teaching Development Centers

Five Professional Teaching Development Centers (PTDCs) have been established to improve teaching quality in California by increasing the number of National Board Certified Teachers (NBCTs), especially in low-performing schools.

California State University, Fullerton
Tara Barnhart, NBCT
tbarnhart@fullerton.edu

California State University, Northridge
Dr. Virginia Kennedy
virginia.kennedy@csun.edu

National University
Rae Adams, NBCT
radams@nu.edu

San Joaquin County Office of Education
Dr. Kathleen Gonsalves
kagonsalves@sjcoe.net

University of California, Los Angeles, Center X
Carrie Usui
usui@gseis.ucla.edu

California Teacher Networks and Support Groups

To add an established candidate support network, e-mail Juliet Barbero at jbarbero@cde.ca.gov.

Name

Description

Contact

American Federation of Teachers

Special loans are available

888-238-5646

Central Valley National Board Support

Candidate recruitment and support for Tulare, Kings, and Fresno counties

Allison Kleinsteuber
559-622-3128 (work)
559-280-9572 (cell)
akleinsteuber@visalia.k12.ca.us
Corona-Norco USD
Candidate support program

Carry Tillery
ctillery@cnusd.k12.ca.us

California Teachers Association
Candidate Support Network & NBCT Engagement

CTA Staff, Stacy Begin, NBCT
sbegin@cta.org

Folsom-Cordova USD
General information Sara Prenzin
sparenzi@fcusd.org

Kern COE

General information

Evelyn Feliciano
661-636-4750
evfeliciano@kern.org

Long Beach USD
Candidate support program Elisa Hagen
562-997-8000 ext. 2900
ehagen@lbschools.net

Los Angeles COE

General information

David Zobler
562-922-6756
zobler_david@lacoe.edu

Marin COE

General information

Raquel Rose
415-499-5891
rrose@marinschools.org

Mt. Diablo USD
General information Liane Cismowski, NBCT
cismowskil@mdusd.k12.ca.us

Napa COE

Support meetings

Jan Sabo
jsabo@ncoe.k12.ca.us

National Board Resource Center at Stanford University External link opens in new window or tab.

Monthly Saturday support meetings for candidates and pre-candidates in the greater S.F. Bay Area. Registration is required. Optional continuing education units from Stanford available. Information session and jump start program.

Sandy Dean
650-724-7349
sdean1@stanford.edu

General information
Information on Website

North County NBPTS Representative - San Diego County

Monthly Saturday meetings for candidates in the North San Diego and South Riverside County areas. No fee for program.

Joanna Murray
760-803-6093
joannamurray@cox.net

 

Orange County Department of Education

Candidate support program

Christina Grubbs
cgrubbs@ocde.us

Leslee Milch
lesleemilch@verizon.net

Palm Springs USD
Candidate support program

Bev Bricker
760-416-9293 (work)
760-902-3883 (cell)
bbricker@psusd.us
bevbricker@hotmail.com

Pomona USD
Candidate support program

Marlo Yep-Vaughan
909-732-0311
Marlo.yep-vaughan@pusd.org

San Bernardino COE

General information

Ron Williams
ron_williams@sbcss.k12ca.us

Sacramento COE

General information

Darby Williams
916-228-2664
dwilliams@scoe.net

San Diego USD
General information

Julia Groff, NBCT
619-252-5491
jgroff@sandi.net

San Francisco Support Group

Monthly support meetings

Maggie Englesbe
415-335-7654
nationalboard@sfusd.edu

San Joaquin COE

Regular support meetings held at the county office

Kathe Gonzalez
209-468-4967
kagonzalez@sjcoe.net

Santa Monica-Malibu USD
Candidate support program

Susan Samarge Powell
310-450-8338 ext. 346
ssamarge@smmusd.org

Tehama COE

General information

Charles Allen
530-528-7341
callen@tehamaschools.org

The Support Network in Los Angeles

Comprehensive programs for pre-candidates, first time candidates, retake candidates, and renewal candidates.

Michael de la Torre
213-251-1444
mdelatore@thesupportnetwork.net

Tracy USD
Offer a stipend and fee support

Susan Martin
209-830-3260 ext. 1301
smartin@tusd.net

University of California - Los Angeles (UCLA)

Offers one- and two-year programs that provide guidance through the certification process

Carrie Usui-Johnson, Director, UCLA NBPTS Projects

Bettye Scott
310-794-7968
bscott@gseis.ucla.edu


Return to top

Questions: Judy Sinclair | jsinclair@cde.ca.gov | 916-323-5846