FINDING OF EMERGENCY

High School Equivalency (HSE) Test 
The State Superintendent of Public Instruction (SSPI) finds that an emergency exists and that the emergency regulations adopted are necessary to avoid serious harm to the public peace, health, safety, or general welfare, especially the welfare of students attending California’s public schools. 
SPECIFIC FACTS DEMONSTRATING THE EXISTENCE OF AN EMERGENCY AND THE NEED FOR IMMEDIATE ACTION 
Overview

These proposed regulations must be adopted on an emergency basis in order to meet the statutory-established timelines as set forth in California Education Code section 51421.5 as established by Senate Bill (SB) 252 (Leno), (Statutes of 2015). SB 252 prohibits the California Department of Education (CDE), contractor(s) or testing centers from charging a fee to an examinee who meets the defined criteria of a homeless youth. The SSPI may use surplus funds in the Special Deposit Fund Account, established pursuant to Education Code section 51427 to reimburse test contractors for the loss of fees. Memorandums of Understanding with contractors will stipulate that if surplus funds in the Special Deposit Account are depleted, the ongoing cost of a fee waiver for an examinee deemed eligible shall be absorbed by the contractor.  

In addition, Education Code section 51421.5 requires that on or before December 1, 2018, the SSPI submit a report to the appropriate policy and fiscal committees of the Legislature that includes the number of homeless youth who took a High School Equivalency (HSE) Test in each of the 2016, 2017, and 2018 calendar years, and the impact of the opportunity to take a HSE Test at no cost on the number and percentage of homeless youth taking a HSE Test. Without these emergency regulations, homeless youth will be delayed in receiving the fee waiver. In addition, the data requirements for 2016 may not be available and the CDE would be hindered in providing the statutorily required reports and recommendations to the Legislature. 
Background
Education Code section 51420 states the SSPI shall issue a California High School Equivalency Certificate and/or an official score report, to persons who have not completed high school and who meet specified requirements. These requirements include, among others, having taken all or a portion of a general educational development test that has been approved by the State Board of Education (SBE) and administered by a testing center approved by the CDE, with a score determined by the SBE to be equal to the standard of performance expected from high school graduates. Education Code section 51421 authorizes the SSPI to charge a one-time fee established by the SBE to cover state administrative costs for the HSE Test. The amount of this fee shall not exceed $20.

In March 2014, the SBE authorized three test contractors to provide the HSE Test: General Educational Testing Service that provides the General Educational Development Test (GED), Educational Testing Service that provides the High School Equivalency Test (HiSET Test), and Data Recognition Corporation that provides the Test Assessing Secondary Completion (TASC). Vendors and test centers are allowed to determine their fees for HSE Test examinees. On average, current total state, contractor, and test center fees for the HSE Test are $140.  

SB 252 prohibits contractors and test centers from charging fees to HSE Test examinees under 25 years of age who can verify his or her status as a homeless youth. The homeless youth must be certified by a homeless services provider as defined in Education Code section 51421.5. The SSPI is authorized until July 1, 2019, to use surplus funds as defined in the Special Deposit Fund Account to reimburse contractors for the loss of fees from approved homeless youth. Memorandums of Understanding with contractors will include a provision that if funds in the Special Deposit Fund Account are depleted, the ongoing cost of fee waivers shall be absorbed by the contractor. 

SB 252 requires the CDE on or before December 1, 2018, to submit reports to the appropriate policy and fiscal committees of the Legislature regarding the efficacy of the HSE Test fee waivers. These reports will include among other data, the number of homeless youth who took the HSE Test in 2016, 2017 and 2018 and the impact of the opportunity to take a HSE Test at no cost. The fee waiver and reporting requirements for the HSE Test shall become inoperative July 1, 2019.
Specific Basis for the Finding of Emergency

SB 252 is intended to allow the vulnerable population of homeless youth to achieve a high school proficiency or equivalency certificate without financial obstacles and requires detailed reports be provided by the CDE to the Legislature for the calendar years 2016, 2017, and 2018.  If the standard regulation process is followed, homeless youth will be delayed in receiving a fee waiver and the CDE may not meet the reporting requirements for 2016. Education Code section 51421.5 requires that emergency regulations be adopted, as necessary, to implement the provisions of SB 252. 
These Issues Could Not Be Addressed Through Nonemergency Regulations

The legislation established the statutory deadline of December 1, 2018, for the CDE to provide detailed reports to the Legislature that incudes data for the calendar year 2016. These requirements do not allow for sufficient time to complete the regular rulemaking process.
NON-DUPLICATION

Government Code section 11349 prohibits unnecessary duplication of state or federal statutes in regulation. In this case, duplication of certain state statute in the proposed emergency regulations is necessary in order to provide additional specific detail not included in state statute. 

AUTHORITY AND REFERENCE
Authority: Sections 51421.5 and 51426, Education Code.

References:  Sections 51420, 51421, 51421.5, 51422, 51423 and 51425, Education Code.

INFORMATIVE DIGEST
On September 30, 2015, Governor Brown signed SB 252 (Statutes of 2015) which amended Education Code section 51421 and added Education Code section 51421.5. Education Code section 51421 authorizes the SSPI to charge a one-time fee to cover the cost of administering the HSE Test. SB 252 prohibits the CDE, contractor(s) and test centers from charging a fee to eligible homeless youth certified by a homeless services provider. Required reports will provide an indication of the effectiveness of the fee waiver in regards to helping homeless youth achieve greater educational and employment opportunities. 

The proposed regulations are intended to support the efficient implementation of the HSE Test fee waiver for eligible homeless youth. The proposed regulations do not differ substantially from existing federal statutes as SB 252 includes definitions and guidelines from federal statutes such as McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act (42 U.S.C. section 11434a(2)). 

The CDE reviewed all state regulations relating to HSE Tests and found none exist that are inconsistent or incompatible with these regulations. 

specific benefits anticipated by the proposed regulations

The proposed regulations will serve to implement the changes to law required under SB 252 by providing direction to homeless youth, homeless services providers, and the testing contractor about what documentation, including the Homeless Certification Form, and processes will be required for a homeless youth to obtain the fee waiver for the HSE Test. The proposed regulations further clarify which fees will be waived, which fees will not be waived, how long Homeless Certification Forms and fee waivers will be valid, and documentation that must be maintained by homeless services providers and the testing contractor. Implementation of the proposed regulations would provide homeless youth who do not have the financial resources to pay the HSE Test registration fee an opportunity to take the HSE Test at no personal cost and potentially earn a High School Equivalency Certificate. The proposed regulations would also ensure that only those eligible youth who are verified to be homeless are afforded this opportunity.
INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE

 

The Homeless Certification Form (issued 03/2016) is hereby incorporated by reference. A copy can be obtained by contacting the Regulations Coordinator.

TECHNICAL, THEORETICAL, AND/OR EMPIRICAL STUDY, REPORTS, OR DOCUMENTS
The SSPI did not consider any technical, theoretical, empirical studies, reports, or other documents in drafting these regulations. 

MANDATE ON LOCAL AGENCIES OR SCHOOL DISTRICTS
Homeless service providers maybe required to make certification records available to the CDE upon request.  
COST OR SAVINGS TO ANY STATE AGENCY

The proposed emergency regulations will not result in any additional costs or savings to local educational agencies, state agencies, or federal funding to the State. However, the emergency regulations themselves do not result in any additional cost over those created by the amendments to Education Code section 51421.5.

NON-DISCRETIONARY COSTS OR SAVINGS IMPOSED UPON LOCAL AGENCIES
Homeless services providers or their agencies will be required to make copies of Homeless Certification Forms available to the CDE upon request. As a result, homeless services providers who receive such a request from the CDE, may incur minimal costs to provide the copies.
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