HOMELESS CERTIFICATION FORM                           

To be used by a homeless child or youth to obtain a fee waiver for a High School Equivalency Test and/or the California High School Proficiency Examination (CHSPE).

The current high school equivalency tests approved by the California State Board of Education are the General Education Development (GED) test, the High School Equivalency Test (HiSET), and the Test Assessing Secondary Completion (TASC). The CHSPE is administered by the Sacramento County Office of Education.
HOW TO OBTAIN A FEE WAIVER
To obtain a fee waiver, each eligible homeless child or youth under 25 years of age must:

1. Complete and sign Section I of this form,

2. Have an authorized homeless services provider complete and sign Section II of this form to verify the homeless status of the child or youth, and

3. Submit the original completed form to the test vendor along with his or her test registration materials. (The homeless child or youth must submit an original completed Homeless Certification Form to each testing contractor to which he or she registers. Copies of the form will not be accepted.)

Note:

· The form is valid for one year and may be renewed annually until the eligible homeless child or youth reaches 25 years of age.

· The fee waiver applies only to the regular test registration fee. 

ELIGIBILITY

To meet eligibility requirements for the fee waiver, the homeless child or youth must be under 25 years of age and must meet the following definition:

“Homeless child or youth” means a homeless child or youth as defined in paragraph (2) of Section 725 of the federal “McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act (42 U.S.C. Section 11434a(2)). This means:

A) 
individuals who lack a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence (within the meaning of section 11302(a)(1));  and

B)
includes — 

(i)
children and youths who are sharing the housing of other persons due to loss of housing, economic hardship, or a similar reason; are living in motels, hotels, trailer parks, or camping grounds due to the lack of alternative adequate accommodations; are living in emergency or transitional shelters; are abandoned in hospitals; or are awaiting foster care placement;

(ii)
children and youths who have a primary nighttime residence that is a public or private place not designed for or ordinarily used as a regular sleeping accommodation for human beings (within the meaning of section 11302(a)(2)(C));

(iii)
children and youths who are living in cars, parks, public spaces, abandoned buildings, substandard housing, bus or train stations, or similar settings; and

(iv) migratory children (as such term is defined in 20 U.S.C. Section 6399) who qualify as homeless for the purposes of this subtitle because the children are living in circumstances described in clauses (i) through (iii).

HOMELESS SERVICES PROVIDER

A Homeless Certification Form can only be obtained from an authorized homeless services provider who has knowledge of the homeless status of a child or youth. The homeless services provider must verify that status by completing Section II of the Homeless Certification Form.

The information regarding who is qualified to serve as an approved homeless services provider is shown in the boxes at the end of Section II of the form. The individual completing Section II must check the box that indicates how he or she is qualified as an approved homeless services provider.  
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HOMELESS CERTIFICATION FORM

The Homeless Certification Form will not be considered complete unless signed and dated by both the homeless services provider and the person making the request for the fee waiver. 

I, __________________________________________________________________(Full Legal Printed Name of Requestor) swear or affirm that, to the best of my knowledge and belief on the date listed below in this section, I am under 25 years of age and homeless as defined in paragraph (2) of Section 725 of the federal McKinney-Vento Homeless Act (42 U.S.C. Section 11434a(2)).
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Today’s Date               Signature of Requestor                                                    Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

Name and Title of Homeless Services Provider                                        Name of Entity/Agency 

Address of Entity/Agency

City






State 



Zip Code

Phone Number (including area code)



   E-mail
I, _____________________________________________________________(Printed Name of Homeless Services Provider) swear or affirm that, to the best of my knowledge and belief on the date listed below:
_____________________________________________________________(Printed Name of Homeless Child or Youth) is a homeless person or homeless child or youth, as defined in paragraph (2) of Section 725 of the federal McKinney-Vento Homeless Act (42 U.S.C. Section 11434a(2)), and that I am qualified as an approved homeless services provider under one of the options described below. (Please select one.)


1. A governmental or non-profit agency receiving federal, state, or county or municipal funding to provide services to a “homeless person” or “homeless child or youth,” or that is otherwise sanctioned to provide those services by a local homeless continuum of care organization. 


2. An attorney licensed to practice law in this state.


3. A local educational agency liaison for homeless children or youth designated as such pursuant to 42 U.S.C. Section 11432(g)(1)(J)(ii), or a school social worker.


4. A human services provider funded by the State of California to provide homeless children or youth services, health services, mental or behavioral health services, substance use disorder services, or public assistance or employment services. 

5. A law enforcement officer designated as a liaison to the homeless population by a local police department or sheriff’s department within the state. 
I declare under penalty of perjury under the law of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.
Signature of Homeless Services Provider

Today’s Date



Expiration Date 
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SECTION I: REQUESTOR - To be completed by the homeless child or youth making the request for the fee waiver (“requestor”)








SECTION II: HOMELESS SERVICES PROVIDER - To be completed by a qualified homeless services provider as defined below. 











