Skip to content
Printer-friendly version

AIEOC September 2011 Meeting Minutes

Meeting minutes for the September 18, 2011 American Indian Education Oversight Committee (AIEOC).

American Indian Education Oversight Committee Meeting Minutes

September 8, 2011


Committee Members: Laura Lee George, Rod Lindsay (arrived at 12:22 p.m.), André Cramblit, John Focke, Helen Doherty, Deborah DeForge, Amber Machamer, Rachel McBride

Absent: Kathleen Marshall (excused), Russell “Butch” Murphy (excused), Irma Amaro (excused)

Office of the State Superintendent of Public Instruction (SSPI) Tom Torlakson: Update by the SSPI

California Department of Education (CDE) Staff Present: Judy Delgado, Chavela Delp, Brian Centeno

Meeting convened at noon.

Item 1―Office of the SSPI: Update

Item 2―Public Comment

There was no public comment.

Item 3―CDE Updates

Item 4―Legislative Update, presented by Katie Valenzuela 

Item 5―Striving Readers Comprehensive Literacy (SRCL) Grant

Item 6―CCSS Update, presented by Tom Adams, Director, Curriculum Frameworks and Instructional Resources Division

Item 7―Tribal Education Departments National Assembly (TEDNA), presented by Greg Masten, Hoopa Education Director and TEDNA Vice President

Item 8―Transitional Kindergarten

Item 9―Smarter Balance, presented by Kristen Brown, CDE Education Research and Evaluation Consultant

Item 10―Committee Business

Laura Lee George―Asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. John Focke moved to adjourn the meeting, Helen Doherty seconded. Unanimous to approve.

The meeting adjourned at 5:06 p.m.
Questions: Judy Delgado | | 916-319-0506 
Download Free Readers