Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

Management Bulletin 11-06

Early Education and Support Division

Subject: Updated Child Development Income Ceilings

Number: 11-06

Date: April 2011

Expires: Until Rescinded

Authority: California Education Code sections 8263.1 (a) and (b)

Attention: Program Directors of Child Development Programs


The purpose of this Management Bulletin (MB) is to advise program directors that the income eligibility for all child care and development programs has been changed from 75 percent of the State Median Income (SMI) to 70 percent of the SMI effective July 1, 2011. The Department has revised income eligibility levels to reflect this change. This MB supersedes the income ceilings in MB 07-13.


With the passage of Senate Bill 70, Chapter 7, Statutes of 2011, California Education Code (EC) sections 8263.1 (a) and (b) were amended to reduce the income ceilings to 70 percent of the SMI that was in use for the 2007–08 fiscal year, adjusted for family size.


Contractors will use the income ceiling table below to determine the maximum income eligibility by family size, for any child whose certified services will begin on or after July 1, 2011.

Subsequent MBs will be issued, on or before May 1, 2011, to address:

  • Family fee schedule update.
  • Priorities for the disenrollment of families.
  • Using the new schedule of income ceilings for enrolling families in California state preschool programs.
Schedule of Income Ceilings
Child Care and Development Programs

Family Size

Family Monthly Income

Family Yearly Income

1 – 2

































If you have any questions regarding the new income eligibility levels, please contact your assigned Early Education and Support Division Field Services Consultant at, or by phone at 916-322-6233.

This Management Bulletin is mandatory only to the extent that it cites a specific statutory and/or regulatory requirement. Any portion of this Management Bulletin that is not supported by a specific statutory and/or regulatory requirement is not prescriptive pursuant to California Education Code Section 33308.5.

Questions:   Early Education and Support Division | 916-322-6233
Last Reviewed: Tuesday, September 1, 2015

Share this Page

Recently Posted in Child Development

  • CCFRF 2014-15 Annual Report (DOC) (added 20-Nov-2015)
    This is a detailed report from the Child Care Facilities Revolving Loan program that is submitted to various Governmental Agencies per Ed Code Section 8278.3.
  • October 12, 2015 Meeting Notes (added 13-Nov-2015)
    Notes from the October 12, 2015 AB 104 joint meeting involving the Alternative Payment Program and Direct Service Program Provider Stakeholder Groups.
  • October 2015 Meeting Materials (added 03-Nov-2015)
    This page contains supplemental materials that were presented at the October 2015 State Advisory Council Meeting.
  • AAV of Letter from the Governor (added 03-Nov-2015)
    Alternative Accessible Version (AAV) of the Governor's Letter to the State Advisory Council on Early Learning and Care on October 15, 2015.
  • Child Care Annual Aggregate Report SFY 2014-15 (added 03-Nov-2015)
    This web page congtains aggregate child counts for state fiscal year 2014-2015.

  • DRDPtech Exemption Request Form (DOC) (added 22-Oct-2015)
    Form for contractors to request an exemption from requirement to submit data via DRDPtech.
  • Management Bulletin 15-13 (added 21-Oct-2015)
    Fiscal Year 2015-16, Request for Applications, California Renovation and Repair Loan Funds.
  • October 2015 SAC Meeting Agenda (added 16-Oct-2015)
    Agenda for the October 2015 meeting of the California State Advisory Council on Early Learning and Care (SAC).
  • Management Bulletin 15-12 (added 06-Oct-2015)
    Management Bulletin 15-12 announces the FY 2016-17 Continued Funding Application.
  • Management Bulletin 15-10 (added 30-Sep-2015)
    Management Bulletin 15-10 announces the FY 2015-16 California State Preschool Expansion RFA.