Early Education and Support Division
|Subject: Revised Child Care and Development Fee Schedule Effective July 1, 2011||Number: 11-26|
|Authority: California Education Code, sections 8263.1(a), 8273.1(b), and 8447(b)(4)||
Date: July 2011
Expires: Until Rescinded
Attention: Program Directors of Child Development Programs
The purpose of this Management Bulletin (MB) is to transmit a revised family fee schedule (PDF) that is effective immediately. The family fee schedule reflects the reduction of income eligibility ceilings to 70 percent of the state median income (SMI). The family fee schedule contained in this MB supersedes the family fee schedule in MB 06-19.
Senate Bill 70, Chapter 7, Statutes of 2011, amends California Education Code (EC) Section 8263.1(a) specifying that income eligible is when a family’s adjusted monthly income is at or below 70 percent of the SMI, adjusted for family size.
The income eligibility ceilings have been reduced to 70 percent of the SMI that was in use for the 2007–08 fiscal year, adjusted for family size. For further information on the new income eligibility ceilings, see MB 11-06. Please note that the last approved family fee schedule is based on the SMI amount of $64,500. The SMI used for developing this family fee schedule is $67,000, the same as that used for determining income eligibility.
The new family fee schedule takes effect immediately, and applies both to existing and new families in the program. As in past years, the following exceptions apply:
- Families with at risk children may be exempt from paying fees if a legally qualified professional in a legal, medical, or social services agency or emergency shelter determines the fee waiver to be necessary.
- Child Protective Services (CPS) families may be exempt from paying a fee for up to 12 months if determined to be necessary by the county welfare department, child welfare services worker.
- Families may be exempt from paying fees for no more than a total of 12 cumulative months.
MB 06-14 transmitted additional information regarding fee collection for children who are at risk or receiving CPS.
For Alternative Payment programs reimbursed under the Regional Market Rate, full-time care is defined as enrollment for six or more hours per day, while part-time care is enrollment for less than six hours per day.
Full-time and part-time fees are assessed based on the program type and the number of hours per day the child is enrolled.
For family child care home education networks reimbursed under the Standard Reimbursement Rate and for center-based programs, full-time care is defined as enrollment for 6.5 or more hours per day, while part-time care is enrollment for less than 6.5 hours per day.
If you have any questions regarding the new income eligibility levels, or application of the family fee schedule, please contact your assigned EESD field services consultant or by phone at 916-322-6233.
This Management Bulletin is mandatory only to the extent that it cites a specific statutory and/or regulatory requirement. Any portion of this Management Bulletin that is not supported by a specific statutory and/or regulatory requirement is not prescriptive pursuant to California Education Code Section 33308.5.