Management Bulletin 14-02
Early Education and Support Division
Subject: Enrolling and Reporting Children in California State Preschool Programs
Date: April 2014
Expires: Until Rescinded
Authority: Senate Bill 1016 (Chapter 38, Statutes of 2012) EC Section 8237, and Federal Regulations (45 CFR, Part 98, sections 98.70 and 98.71)
Attention: Executive Officers and Program Directors of California State Preschool Programs
This Management Bulletin (MB) provides guidance to contractors regarding updated age definitions for enrollment and reporting of children and families in a California State Preschool Program (CSPP).
This MB (14-02) supersedes MBs 12-14 and 12-15.
The Budget Act of 2012–13 (Senate Bill 1016, Chapter 38, Statutes of 2012):
- Amended California Education Code (EC) sections 8208(ai) and (aj) changing the definition for three- and four-year-olds who are eligible to be enrolled in the CSPP.
- Repealed the over-income allowances specific to CSPP programs receiving Prekindergarten and Family Literacy funding, previously set forth in EC Section 8238.4(a)(4), so that all CSPPs are limited to the over income allowances set forth in EC Section 8235(c).
- Effective July 1, 2014, only children meeting the following definitions can be enrolled, reported, and claimed under a CSPP contract:
- “Three-year-old children” are children who will have their third birthday on or before September 1 of the fiscal year they are being served.
- “Four-year-old children” are children who will have their fourth birthday on or before September 1 of the fiscal year they are being served.
- CSPP contractors, providing part-day services in accordance with EC Section 8235(d), can certify and enroll children up to 120 days prior to the first day of the preschool year. The first day of preschool cannot begin before July 1.
- For families receiving only part-day CSPP services, contractors can enroll, report, and claim up to 10 percent of the children who are from families whose income is no more than 15 percent above the income eligibility threshold. This limitation does not apply to families whose eligibility is based on Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) cash assistance, homelessness, or whose child is receiving services because the child is receiving Child Protective Services or is at-risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation.
Contractors must submit a CDD-801A report that includes data on the services provided to CSPP eligible three- and four-year-old children and families receiving subsidized child care and development services during the report month, consistent with the updated definitions.
Effective July 1, 2014, the CDD-801A report will only accept the following data when contractors are reporting children under the CSPP program code:
- “CSPP eligible three-year-olds” who, regardless of their chronological age, will have their third birthday on or before September 1, of the fiscal year they are being served.
Exception: A CSPP eligible three-year-old can remain in a general child care and development program (CCTR) until the day before their third birthday when it is developmentally appropriate for the child to be served in a toddler setting. These children are eligible for reimbursement using the toddler adjustment factor as long as they are being served in a classroom staffed pursuant to California Code of Regulation, Title 5 (5 CCR), Section 18290(b). These children would be claimed and reported under the CCTR program.
- “CSPP eligible four-year-olds” who, regardless of their chronological age, will have their fourth birthday on or before September 1, of the fiscal year they are being served.
- “CSPP eligible five-year-olds” who will have their fifth birthday on or before September 1 of the fiscal year they receive services, and who were receiving full-day services as a CSPP eligible four-year-old on or before June 30, may remain in a CSPP program until they start kindergarten, but no later than September 30.
- Families with children receiving services only in the part-day CSPP program may exceed the income ceiling by no more than 15 percent. This directive only applies when the reason for receiving child care is part-day CSPP.
Children whose fifth birthday are on or between September 2 and December 2 of the fiscal year they are being served, are eligible for transitional kindergarten (TK) and are subject to the following conditions:
- These children also meet the definition of a CSPP eligible four-year-old, and therefore may be eligible to receive CSPP services.
- Families of children who are eligible for both CSPP and TK may choose the most appropriate program for their child. A family can enroll their child in both programs; however, a child shall not be enrolled in both programs for the same time period on the same day.
- A child who is only enrolled in TK, and whose family needs before or after school services, can be enrolled in a CCTR or Alternative Payment program. Before or after school services cannot be provided under the terms of a CSPP contract.
Questions regarding the information in this MB should be addressed to your Early Education and Support Field Services Consultant http://www.cde.ca.gov/sp/cd/ci/assignments.asp or by phone at 916-322-6233.
This Management Bulletin is mandatory only to the extent that it cites a specific statutory and/or regulatory requirement. Any portion of this Management Bulletin that is not supported by a specific statutory and/or regulatory requirement is not prescriptive pursuant to California Education Code Section 33308.5.