Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

Reimbursement Fact Sheet Fiscal Year 2016-17


Child Care and Development Programs
FY 2016–17 Budget Act
Center-based Direct Services

The following are the governing rates for fiscal year (FY) 2016–17 for center-based direct service contracts:

The standard reimbursement rate (SRR) is $40.20 per child day of enrollment (cde) or $10,050.00 per annum based on 250 days of operation (Education Code (EC] Section 8265 [B] and State Budget Act of 2016, item 6110-194-0001, provision 5).

The full-day California State Preschool Program (CSPP) reimbursement rate is $40.45 per cde or $10,112.50 per annum based on 250 days of operation (EC Section 8265 (B) and State Budget Act of 2016, item 6110-194-0001, provision 5, and item 6110-196-0001, provision 3).

Adjustment Factors
Applicable to reimbursement in accordance with the SRR (Education Code Section 8265.5)

Children Meeting Specified Criteria Adjustment Factor

Adjusted SRR
($40.20)

Adjusted Full-Day
($40.45)

Infants (birth up to 18 months) 1.7 $68.34 per cde $68.76 per cde
Toddlers (18 months up to 36 months)
1.4
$56.28 per cde
$56.63 per cde
Family Child Care Homes infants and toddlers (birth up to 36 months)
1.4
$56.28 per cde
$56.63 per cde
Exceptional Needs
1.2
$48.24 per cde
$48.54 per cde
Limited or Non-English Proficient
1.1
$44.22 per cde
$44.49 per cde
Children At Risk of Abuse or Neglect
1.1
$44.22 per cde
$44.49 per cde
Severely Handicapped
1.5
$60.30 per cde
$60.67 per cde

The part-day CSPP rate is $25.06 per cde or $4,385.41 per annum for 175 days of operation (State Budget Act of 2016, item 6110-196-0001, provision 3).

The rate for Bay Area Handicapped programs is $64.25 per cde.

Age Classifications for Eligibility
Age Classification and Time Base Center-Based Regional Market Rate
Infants
Birth up to 18 months
Birth up to 24 months
Toddlers
18 months up to 36 months
N/A
Preschool Age
36 months up to Kindergarten
24 month up to age 6
School Age
Kindergarten up to age 13
6 years up to 13 years
Time base: Full-time
6.5 + hours per day
30 + hours per week
Questions:   Early Education and Support Division | 916-322-4855
Last Reviewed: Thursday, February 23, 2017
Recently Posted in Child Development
  • Draft CCDF Quality Expenditure Plan for FY 2017–18 (added 28-Mar-2017)
    Report on the Draft Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) Quality Expenditure Plan for fiscal year (FY) 2017–18.
  • EESD Title 5 Revisions Project (added 09-Mar-2017)
    Information and resources on the Early Education and Support Division (EESD) process to revise the California Code of Regulations, Title 5, Chapters 19 and 19.5.
  • Reimbursement Fact Sheet Fiscal Year 2016-17 (added 23-Feb-2017)
    Reimbursement Fact Sheet for Fiscal Year 2016-17.
  • Minimum Wage Brochure (PDF) (added 21-Feb-2017)
    A summarization of the findings and recommendations from the Minimum Wage Task Force regarding the minimum wage increase's effects on child care and development programs and families.
  • Management Bulletin 17-03 (added 14-Feb-2017)
    Management Bulletin 17-03 informs child care contractors and providers that a digital signature is considered a type of electronic signature.

  • Management Bulletin 17-04 (added 14-Feb-2017)
    Management Bulletin 17-04 informs child care contractors they are authorized to use digital signatures.
  • Plumas County LPC Priorities (XLS) (added 09-Feb-2017)
    Plumas County Local Planning Council Priorities Submission Form.
  • Electronic Submission of LPC Priorities (added 09-Feb-2017)
    Local Planning Councils (LPCs) are required to identify local priority areas for child care services by submitting priorities electronically.
  • Certification of LPC Priority E-Submission (PDF) (added 09-Feb-2017)
    Local Planning Councils (LPCs) are required to certify the accuracy of electronically submitted priorities for child care services with this document.