Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

CHSSCO Advisory Committee


The role of the California Head Start-State Collaboration Office (CHSSCO) Advisory Committee is to advise and assist the CHSSCO to fulfill its mission. Members participate in meetings focused on creating collaborative partnerships and the development and implementation of the CHSSCO Work plan.

The Committee members and liaisons represent Head Start agencies throughout California, including American Indian and Migrant programs, the California Head Start Association, Early Education and Support Division funded early education programs, and other agencies and organizations that provide services to young children and their families, such as the State Departments of Health Services, Social Services, and Developmental Services.

California Head Start Agency Representatives

Representative Phone/E-mail
Ann Bonnitto
California Rural Indian Health Board, Inc.
4400 Auburn Boulevard, 2nd Floor
Sacramento, CA 95841
916-929-9761
ann.bonnitto@crihb.org
William Castellanos
San Luis Obispo EOC Head Start
1030 Southwood Drive
San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-5813
805-544-4355
bcastellanos@eocslo.org
Paula Kaplan
Vista Del Mar Child & Family Services
6926 Melrose Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90038
323-934-7979
paulakaplan@vistadelmar.org
Pamm Shaw
YMCA of the Central Bay Area ECS
2009 Tenth Street
Berkeley, CA 94710
510-809-2277
pshaw@ymca-cba.org
Ana M. Trujillo
Preschool Services Department-Head Start Program
1290 Ridder Park Drive, MC 225
San Jose, CA 95131-2304
408-453-6980
ana_trujillo@sccoe.org
Esmirna Valencia
Riverside County Office of Education
3939 Thirteenth Street
P.O. Box 868
Riverside, CA 92502-0868
951-826-6530
evalencia@rcoe.k12.ca.us

California Head Start Association Representative

Representative Phone/E-mail
Rick Mockler
California Head Start Association
1107 9th Street, Suite 810
Sacramento, CA 95814
916-444-7760 Ext. 105
rick@caheadstart.org

Region IX Representative

Representative Phone/E-mail
Maureen Burns Vermette
ACF Region 9 Head Start Liaison
90 7th Street, Ninth Floor
San Francisco, CA 94103
415-437-8452
maureen.burns@acf.hhs.gov

Committee Liaisons

Representative Phone/E-mail
Linda Asato
California Child Care Resource & Referral Network
111 New Montgomery Street, 7th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94105
415-494-4640
lasato@rrnetwork.org
Shanice Boyette
Child Care Policy Analyst
Child Care Policy & Advocacy Unit
Statewide Child Care Program Office
California Department of Social Services
8745 Folsom Boulevard
Sacramento, CA 95826
(Alternate: Alison Myers alison.myers@dss.ca.gov)
916-651-0273
shanice.boyette@dss.ca.gov
Melinda Brookshire
WestEd
333 N. Lantana, Suite 277
Camarillo, CA 93010
805-465-4412
mbrooks@wested.org

Nancy Herota
California Preschool Instructional Network
Sacramento County Office of Education
P.O. Box 269003
Sacramento, CA 95826-9003

916-228-2441
nherota@scoe.net
Rosanna Jackson
Oral Health Program
California Department of Public Health Services
P.O. Box 997377, MS 7210
Sacramento, CA 95899-7377
916-552-9896
rosanna.jackson@cdph.ca.gov
Ameera Kidane
California Home Visiting Program Branch
Maternal, Child, and Adolescent Health Division
California Department of Public Health Services
1615 Capitol Avenue, MS8300
P.O. Box 997420
Sacramento, CA 95899-7420
(Alternate: Jennifer Gregson jennifer.gregson@cdph.ca.gov)
916-285-7135
ameera.kidane@cdph.ca.gov
Dana McVey
First 5 California
2389 Gateway Oaks Drive, Suite 260
Sacramento, CA 95833
916-263-1154
dmcvey@ccfc.ca.gov
Dr. June Millovich
Saddleback College
28000 Marguerite Parkway
Mission Viejo, CA 92692
949-582-4576
jmillovich@saddleback.edu
Elise Parnes
Early Start State Services Section
California Department of Developmental Services
1600 Ninth Street, Room 330
Sacramento CA 95814
(Alternate: Jessica Dailey-Keithline jessica.dailey@dds.ca.gov)
916-654-1605
elise.parnes@dds.ca.gov
Virginia Reynolds
Center for Prevention and Early Intervention
WestEd
1000 G Street, Suite 500
Sacramento, CA 95814
916-492-4000
vreynol@wested.org
Patty Scroggins
Child Development Training Consortium
620 N. Carpenter Road, Suite C-16
Modesto, CA 95351
209-572-6087
scrogginsp@yosemite.cc.ca.us
Sheila Self
Special Education Division
California Department of Education
1430 N Street, Suite 2401
Sacramento, CA 95814
916-327-3538
sself@cde.ca.gov
Leanne Wheeler, Homeless Education Coordinator
School Turnaround Office
California Department of Education
1430 N Street, Suite 4309
Sacramento, CA 95814
916-319-0383
lwheeler@cde.ca.gov

Early Education and Support Division Liaisons

Staff Phone/E-mail
Cecelia Fisher-Dahms
Quality Improvement Office
Early Education and Support Division
California Department of Education
1430 N Street, Suite 3410
Sacramento, CA 95814
916-324-9739
cfisherd@cde.ca.gov
Guadalupe Romo-Zendejas
Field Services Office
Early Education and Support Division
California Department of Education
1430 N Street, Suite 3410
Sacramento, CA 95814
916-324-6164
gromozen@cde.ca.gov

Collaboration Office Staff

Staff Phone/E-mail
Stephanie Myers, Collaboration Office Coordinator
Policy Office
Early Education and Support Division
California Department of Education
1430 N Street, Suite 3410
Sacramento, CA 95814
916-323-9727
smyers@cde.ca.gov
Marguerite Ries, Collaboration Office Director
Policy Office
Early Education and Support Division
California Department of Education
1430 N Street, Suite 3410
Sacramento, CA 95814
916-445-7349
mries@cde.ca.gov

Questions:   Stephanie Myers | smyers@cde.ca.gov | 916-323-9727
Last Reviewed: Wednesday, December 30, 2015
Related Content
Recently Posted in Child Development

  • CCDBG QI Budget 1Nov2016 (PDF) (added 01-Nov-2016)
    November 1, 2016, presentation at the Quality Improvement Budget Stakeholders meeting regarding the Child Care and Development Block Grant.
  • AAV of Exhibits 3.18 and 3.26 (added 17-Oct-2016)
    Accessible alternative version (AAV) of Exhibits 3.18 and 3.26 in the evaluation report of the RTT-ELC QRIS.
  • Management Bulletin 16-16 (added 11-Oct-2016)
    Management Bulletins issued by the Early Education and Support Division to clarify regulations and statutes.