Skip to content
Printer-friendly version

High School Equivalency Tests (HSET)

California has approved the use of three high school equivalency tests (GED®, HiSET®, and TASC™) for students 18 years old and older, and 17 years old in some instances, for the purpose of receiving a California High School Equivalency Certificate.

The main attributes of the selected high school equivalency tests are:

General Educational Development Test (GED)

Provided by the GED Testing Service (GEDTS®)

The 2014 GED test is offered in a computer-based format, although paper-based versions of the 2002 GED test are currently available for test takers requiring accommodations, and those at correctional facilities participating in the Transitional Waiver Program. More information about the GED may be found at the GEDTS Web site.

High School Equivalency Test (HiSET)

Provided by the Educational Testing Service (ETS)

The HiSET will be offered in computer-based and paper-based formats. Information about this test is available on the HiSET Web site External link opens in new window or tab..

Test Assessing Secondary Completion (TASC)

Provided by CTB/McGraw–Hill

The TASC will be offered in computer-based and paper-based formats. See the TASC Web site External link opens in new window or tab. for more information.

Previously known as the annual State GED Conference is now the…

2014 California High School Equivalency Conference – will be a two-day conference, held in downtown Sacramento on October 28 and 29, 2014 at the Holiday Inn – Capitol Plaza. This conference will provide critical updates on the High School Equivalency testing program in California as well as introducing additional options for test takers.

Questions:   High School and Physical Fitness Assessment Office | | 916-445-9438
Download Free Readers