Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

California Modified Assessment (CMA) Pilot Test

In April 2007, the United States Department of Education enacted regulations for an alternate assessment based on modified achievement standards. The California Department of Education, in response to the federal regulations, developed and implemented the California Modified Assessment (CMA) as an alternate assessment of the California content standards based on modified achievement standards for children with disabilities who have an individualized education program (IEP).

The use of Smarter Balanced Assessments for English-language arts and mathematics with the appropriate universal tools, designated supports, and/or accommodations replaces the CMA tests for those subjects.

CMA for Science will continue (as part of the implementation of AB 484) to be administered to students with disabilities in grades five, eight, and ten who have an IEP that identifies the use of the CMA for Science until a successor science test is developed.

CMA Blueprints
Provides information on the CMA for English-Language Arts in grades three through eleven, CMA for Mathematics in grades three through seven, CMA for Algebra I, CMA for Geometry, CMA for Science in grades five and eight, and CMA for Life Science in grade ten.

CMA Reference Sheets
Samples of the science reference sheets for the CMA for Science in grade five that are found in the test booklets.

Differences Between the CST and the CMA (PDF)
Provides examples of the format changes between the California Standards Test and the California Modified Assessment.

CMA Pilot Executive Summary (DOC)
Provides summary information and finding from the CMA pilot that was conducted in fall 2006.

CMA Pilot (DOC; 22MB)
Provides information from the CMA pilot that was conducted in fall 2006.

Questions:   California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress Office | | 916-445-8765
Last Reviewed: Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Recently Posted in Testing