
Final Statement of Reasons
California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress Regulation
Update of Initial Statement of Reasons
Emergency Rulemaking
Initial Adoption
On behalf of the State Board of Education (SBE) and pursuant to Government Code section 11346.1(a)(2), these proposed regulations were pre-noticed by the California Department of Education (CDE) on March 13, 2024, through March 20, 2024, inclusive. These regulations were filed with the Office of Administrative Law (OAL) as emergency regulations on March 21, 2024, and were approved on April 2, 2024, with an expiration date of September 30, 2024.
First Readoption
On July 10, 2024, the SBE approved the readoption of these emergency regulations. Pursuant to Government Code section 11346.1(a)(2), these proposed regulations were pre-noticed by the CDE on September 4, 2024, through September 10, 2024, inclusive. These regulations were filed with the OAL as readopted emergency regulations on September 11, 2024, and were approved by OAL on September 21, 2024. These approved readopted emergency regulations were effective on September 27, 2024, with an expiration date of December 22, 2024.
Permanent Rulemaking
The original proposed text was made available for public comment for at least 45 days from April 5 through May 21, 2024. No comments were received during the 45-day comment period.
[bookmark: _Hlk141425528]A public hearing was held via videoconference on May 21, 2024, at 9:00 a.m. Eight individuals attended the public hearing, and no oral comments were received at the public hearing.
Summary and Response to Comments Received During the Initial Notice Period of April 5 Through May 21, 2024
No written comments were received during the initial notice period of April 5 through May 21, 2024.
Alternatives Determination 
The State Board of Education has determined that no alternative would be more effective in carrying out the purpose for which the regulation is proposed or would be as effective and less burdensome to affected private persons than the proposed regulation or would be more cost effective to affected private persons and equally effective in implementing the statutory policy or other provisions of law.
The non-adoption of these changes is not a suitable alternative because it would jeopardize the CDE’s ability to report aggregate results by October 15 every year, as mandated by Education Code section 60641.
Local Mandate Determination 
The proposed regulations do not impose any mandate on local agencies or school districts.
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