
Instructions for Completing the 
Homeless Certification Form

These instructions are to be used by homeless youths who are under 25 years of age and can verify 
their status to obtain a fee waiver for a High School Equivalency Test and/or the California High 
School Proficiency Examination (CHSPE).
The current high school equivalency tests approved by the California State Board of Education 
are the GED test and the HiSET. The CHSPE is administered by the Sacramento County Office of 
Education.

Eligibility

To meet eligibility requirements for the fee waiver, the homeless student must be under 25 years of 
age and must meet the following definition:
“Homeless test taker” means a homeless adult (under age 25) or student child or youth as defined 
in paragraph (2) of Section 725 of the federal McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act  
(42 USC Section 11434a(2)). This means:

A.	 individuals who lack a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence (within the meaning of 
section 11302(a)(1)); and

B.	 includes—
(i)	 children and youths who are sharing the housing of other persons due to loss of housing, 

economic hardship, or a similar reason; are living in motels, hotels, trailer parks, or 
camping grounds due to the lack of alternative adequate accommodations; are living in 
emergency or transitional shelters; are abandoned in hospitals; or are awaiting foster 
care placement;

(ii)	 children and youths who have a primary nighttime residence that is a public or private 
place not designed for or ordinarily used as a regular sleeping accommodation for 
human beings (within the meaning of section 11302(a)(2)(C));

(iii)	 children and youths who are living in cars, parks, public spaces, abandoned buildings, 
substandard housing, bus or train stations, or similar settings; and

(iv)	 migratory children (as such term is defined in 20 USC Section 6399) who qualify 
as homeless for the purposes of this subtitle because the children are living in 
circumstances described in clauses (i) through (iii).

How to Obtain a Fee Waiver

To obtain a fee waiver, each eligible test taker must:
1.	 Complete and sign Section I of this form.
2.	 Have an authorized homeless services provider complete and sign Section II of this form to 

verify the homeless status of the test taker.
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Instructions for Completing the Homeless Certification Form, continued

3.	 Submit the original completed form to the test vendor along with his or her test registration 
materials. (The homeless test taker must submit an original completed Homeless Certification 
Form to each testing contractor to which he or she registers. Copies of the form will not be 
accepted.)

Note:
•	 The form is valid for one year and may be renewed annually until the eligible homeless child or 

youth reaches 25 years of age.
•	 The fee waiver applies only to the regular test registration fee.

Homeless Services Provider

The necessary form, “Homeless Certification Form,” can be obtained only from an authorized 
homeless services provider who has knowledge of the homeless status of a youth. The homeless 
services provider must verify that status by completing Section II of the Homeless Certification Form.
The information regarding who is qualified to serve as an approved homeless services provider is 
shown in the boxes at the end of Section II of the form. The individual completing Section II must 
check the box that indicates how he or she is qualified as an approved homeless services 
provider.
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