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	SUBJECT

California High School Proficiency Examination: Approve the Finding of Emergency and Proposed Emergency Regulations for Amendments to the California Code of Regulations, Title 5, Sections 11520 through 11525.
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SUMMARY OF THE ISSUE(S)

The California Department of Education (CDE) is responsible for administering the California High School Proficiency Examination (CHSPE) to individuals who are at least 16 years of age or meet other eligibility requirements. Individuals taking the CHSPE may earn a Certificate of Proficiency awarded by the State Board of Education (SBE) that is equivalent to a high school diploma according to California law. Senate Bill (SB) 252 (Leno), signed by the Governor on September 30, 2015, prohibits the CDE from charging fees to administer the CHSPE to a homeless child or youth who is under 25 years of age. The law requires the State Board of Education (SBE) to adopt emergency regulations to implement the provisions of the new law.

RECOMMENDATION
The CDE recommends the SBE take the following actions:

· Approve the Finding of Emergency

· Adopt the proposed Emergency Regulations 

· Direct the CDE to circulate the required notice of proposed emergency action, and then submit the Emergency Regulations to the Office of Administrative Law (OAL) for approval

· Authorize the CDE to take any necessary action to respond to any direction or concern expressed by the OAL during its review of the Finding of Emergency and proposed emergency regulations
BRIEF HISTORY OF KEY ISSUES
Individuals who are at least 16 years of age, or have been enrolled in the tenth grade for one academic year or longer, or are completing their final semester of the tenth grade are eligible to take the CHSPE to earn a Certificate of Proficiency which is equivalent to a California high school diploma. The CHSPE is administered by the Sacramento County Office of Education under a contract with the CDE. 
Individuals who take the CHSPE must register for the test and pay the fee for administration and scoring of the test at their own expense. SB 252 provides the opportunity for a verified homeless child or youth who is under the age of 25 and meets other eligibility requirements to take the CHSPE at no cost. The law requires that a qualified homeless services provider who has knowledge of the examinee’s housing status verify that status for the examinee to be eligible for the fee waiver. Education Code Section 48412(c)(3) defines a homeless services provider as either “A homeless services provider listed in paragraph (3) of subdivision (d) of Section 103577 of the Health and Safety Code, or any other person or entity that is qualified to verify an individual’s housing status, as determined by the department.” Under this law, an eligible homeless services provider includes, but is not limited to:
· A governmental or nonprofit agency receiving federal, state, or county or municipal funding to provide services to a “homeless person” or “homeless child or youth,” or that is otherwise sanctioned to provide those services by a local homeless continuum of care organization.

· An attorney licensed to practice law in this state.

· A local educational agency liaison for homeless children and youth, pursuant to Section 11432(g)(1)(J)(ii) of Title 42 of the United States Code, or a school social worker.

· A human services provider or public social services provider funded by the State of California to provide homeless children or youth services, health services, mental or behavioral health services, substance use disorder services, or public assistance or employment services.

· A law enforcement officer designated as a liaison to the homeless population by a local police department or sheriff’s department within the state.
SB 252 requires the SBE to adopt emergency regulations to implement the provisions of the law. This agenda item proposes amendments to existing CHSPE regulations for that purpose. The proposed amendments include, but are not limited to:

· Addition of a section to specify that the testing contractor shall not collect a registration fee from a verified eligible homeless child or youth who registers by the regular registration deadline.
· Addition of sections to specify that fees for other services will not be waived. This includes, but is not limited to, fees for late or emergency registration, transcripts or duplicate certificates, services or documents to verify the need for testing accommodations, or test preparation.

· Addition of a section to specify the documentation that must be submitted with registration materials to verify eligibility for the fee waiver.

· Addition of information about a Homeless Certification Form that must be completed by homeless services provider to verify the housing status of the examinee, including:
· The definition of the form.
· The information that must be provided on the form.
· The valid period of the form.
· Specification that the homeless services provider must maintain a copy of the completed form until the homeless youth reaches 26 years of age and provide a copy of the form to the CDE upon request.
· Specification that the testing contractor must maintain the original completed form until the homeless youth reaches 26 years of age and provide the original form to the CDE upon request.
SUMMARY OF PREVIOUS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION DISCUSSION AND ACTION
None.
FISCAL ANALYSIS (AS APPROPRIATE)
An Economic and Fiscal Impact Statement is submitted as Attachment 4.

ATTACHMENT(S)
Attachment 1:  Finding of Emergency (​4 pages)

Attachment 2:  Emergency Regulations (4 Pages)

Attachment 3:  Notice of Proposed Emergency Action (1 page) 
Attachment 4: 
Economic and Fiscal Impact Statement (STD. 399) (5 pages)  

FINDING OF EMERGENCY

California High School Proficiency Examination (CHSPE)

The State Board of Education (SBE) finds that an emergency exists and that the emergency regulations adopted are necessary to avoid serious harm to the public peace, health, safety, or general welfare, especially the welfare of students attending California’s public schools. 
SPECIFIC FACTS DEMONSTRATING THE EXISTENCE OF AN EMERGENCY AND THE NEED FOR IMMEDIATE ACTION 
Overview

These proposed regulations must be adopted on an emergency basis in order to meet the statutory-established timelines as set forth in California Education section 48412 as established by Senate Bill (SB) 252 (Leno), (Statutes of 2015). SB 252 prohibits the California Department of Education (CDE) from charging a fee to an examinee who meets the defined criteria of a homeless youth. SB 252 provides that no additional state funds shall be appropriated for purposes of implementing the above provisions. The bill requires the SBE to adopt emergency regulations for purposes of these provisions.

In addition, Education Code section 48412 requires that on or before December 1, 2018, the Superintendent submit a report to the appropriate policy and fiscal committees of the of the Legislature that includes the number of homeless youth that took the high school proficiency test in each of the 2016, 2017, and 2018 calendar years and the impact of the opportunity to take the high school proficiency test at no cost on the number and percentage of homeless youth taking the high school proficiency test. Without these emergency regulations, homeless youth will be delayed in receiving the fee waiver. In addition, the data requirements for 2016 may not be available and the CDE would be hindered in providing the statutory required reports and recommendations to the Legislature. 

Background

Education Code section 48412 authorizes certain persons, including, among others, any person 16 years of age or older, to have his or her proficiency in basic skills taught in public high schools verified according to criteria established by the CDE. The law requires the SBE to award a certificate of proficiency to persons who demonstrate that proficiency. The law further requires the CDE to develop standards of competency in basic skills taught in public high schools and to provide for the administration of examinations prepared by, or with the approval of, the CDE to verify competency. The law authorizes the CDE to charge a fee for each examination application in an amount sufficient to recover the costs of administering the requirements of these provisions, but prohibits the fee from exceeding an amount equal to the cost of test renewal and administration per examination application. The high school proficiency examination is known as the California High School Proficiency Examination (CHSPE) and the test is currently administered under the CDE’s contract with the Sacramento County Office of Education.  
SB 252 prohibits the CDE from charging a fee to an examinee who is under 25 years of age and can verify his or her status as a homeless youth. The homeless youth will be certified by a homeless services provider as defined in Education Code section 48412. 

SB 252 requires the CDE on or before December 1, 2018, to submit a report to the appropriate policy and fiscal committees of the Legislature. The report will include, among other data, the number of homeless youth who took the CHSPE in 2016, 2017 and 2018 and the impact of the opportunity to take the high school proficiency examination at no cost. The reporting requirements for CHSPE will be inoperative on January 1, 2020, pursuant to Government Code section 10231.5. 

Specific Basis for the Finding of Emergency

SB 252 is intended to allow the vulnerable population of homeless youth to achieve a high school proficiency or equivalency certificate without financial obstacles and requires detailed reports be provided by the CDE to the Legislature for the calendar years 2016, 2017, and 2018.  If the standard regulation process is followed, homeless youth will be delayed in receiving a fee waiver and the CDE may not meet the reporting requirements for 2016. Education Code section 48412 requires the SBE to adopt emergency regulations, as necessary, to implement the provisions of SB 252. 
These Issues Could Not Be Addressed Through Nonemergency Regulations

Education Code section 42412(f) established a statutory deadline of December 1, 2018, for the CDE to provide detailed reports to the Legislature that incudes data for the calendar year 2016. These requirements do not allow for sufficient time to complete the regular rulemaking process.

NON-DUPLICATION

Government Code section 11349 prohibits unnecessary duplication of state or federal statutes in regulation. In this case, duplication of certain state statute in the proposed emergency regulations is necessary in order to provide additional specific detail not included in state statute. 

AUTHORITY AND REFERENCE
Authority: Sections 33031, 48410 and 48412, Education Code.

References:  Sections 48410 and 48412, Education Code.
INFORMATIVE DIGEST

Education Code section 48412 authorizes certain persons, including, among others, any person 16 years of age or older, to have his or her proficiency in basic skills taught in public high schools verified according to criteria established by the CDE. The law requires the SBE to award a certificate of proficiency to persons who demonstrate that proficiency. The law further requires the department to develop standards of competency in basic skills taught in public high schools and to provide for the administration of examinations prepared by, or with the approval of, the department to verify competency. The law authorizes the CDE to charge a fee for each examination application in an amount sufficient to recover the costs of administering the requirements of these provisions, but prohibits the fee from exceeding an amount equal to the cost of test renewal and administration per examination application.

SB 252 (Leno), signed by the Governor on September 30, 2015, prohibits the CDE from charging the fee to a homeless child or youth who is under 25 years of age and can verify his or her status as a homeless child or youth. SB 252 authorizes a homeless services provider, as defined, that has knowledge of the examinee’s housing status to verify the examinee’s status for purposes of these provisions. SB 252 provides that no additional state funds shall be appropriated for purposes of implementing the above provisions. The bill requires the SBE to adopt emergency regulations for purposes of these provisions.

Required reports will provide an indication of the effectiveness of the fee waiver in regards to helping homeless youth achieve greater educational and employment opportunities. 
The proposed regulations are intended to support the efficient implementation of the CHSPE fee waiver for eligible homeless youth. The proposed regulations do not differ substantially from existing federal statutes as SB 252 includes definitions and guidelines from federal statutes such as McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act (42 U.S.C. Section 1134a(2)). The CDE reviewed all state regulations relating to the CHSPE and found none exist that are inconsistent or incompatible with these regulations. 

specific benefits anticipated by the proposed regulations

The proposed regulations will serve to implement the changes to law required under SB 252 by providing direction to homeless youth, homeless services providers, and the testing contractor about what documentation, including the Homeless Certification Form, and processes will be required for a homeless youth to obtain the fee waiver for the CHSPE. The proposed regulations further clarify which fee will be waived, which fees will not be waived, how long Homeless Certification Forms and fee waivers will be valid, and documentation that must be maintained by homeless services providers and the testing contractor. Implementation of the proposed regulations would provide homeless youth who do not have the financial resources to pay the CHSPE registration fee an opportunity to take the CHSPE at no personal cost and potentially earn a Certificate of Proficiency. The proposed regulations would also ensure that only those eligible youth who are verified to be homeless are afforded this opportunity.
TECHNICAL, THEORETICAL, AND/OR EMPIRICAL STUDY, REPORTS, OR DOCUMENTS
The SBE did not consider any technical, theoretical, empirical studies, reports, or other documents in drafting these regulations.

MANDATE ON LOCAL AGENCIES OR SCHOOL DISTRICTS
Homeless services providers may be required to make certification records available to the CDE upon request.
COST OR SAVINGS TO ANY STATE AGENCY

The emergency regulations will not result in any additional costs or savings to local educational agencies, state agencies, or federal funding to the State.
NON-DISCRETIONARY COSTS OR SAVINGS IMPOSED UPON LOCAL AGENCIES

Homeless services providers or their agencies will be required to make copies of Homeless Certification Forms available to the CDE upon request. As a result, homeless services providers who receive such a request from the CDE, may incur minimal costs to provide the copies.
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· The State Board of Education has illustrated changes to the original text in the following manner: text originally proposed to be added is underlined; text proposed to be deleted is displayed in strikeout. 

 Title 5. EDUCATION

Division 1. California Department of Education

Chapter 11. Special Programs

Subchapter 8. High School Proficiency Certificates

Article 1. Certificate of Proficiency

§ 11520. Definitions.


(a) “Certificate” means a certificate of proficiency awarded by the State Board of Education (SBE) as described in Education Code section 48412(a)(2).


(b) “Homeless Certification Form” means a form provided by the California Department of Education (CDE) that is to be completed by an authorized homeless services provider to verify that a youth is homeless as defined in Education Code section 48412. The Homeless Certification Form (issued 03/2016) is incorporated by reference in California Code of Regulations, title 5, section 11530.

(c)(a) “Parent” as used in Education Code Ssection 48410(e), relating to verified parental approval, means the natural parent, or adoptive parent or legal guardian, having legal custody of the pupil.


(d) “Testing accommodations” means any variation in the assessment environment or process that does not fundamentally alter what the test measures or affect the comparability of scores.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 48410, and 48412 and 51426, Education Code. Reference: Sections 48410 and 48412, Education Code.

§ 11521. Placement on Pupil Transcript.


A school district shall, for each pupil who demonstrates proficiency as provided in Education Code Ssection 48410(e), indicate the pupil's accomplishment and the date of the proficiency certificate award on the pupil's official transcript.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 33031, Education Code. Reference: Section 48410, Education Code.

§ 11522. Requirement for Exemption from School Attendance Form.


Each school district shall develop a form which evidences parental consent for exemption from further compulsory school attendance pursuant to Education Code Ssection 48410(e). The form shall be made available upon request to 16- and 17-year-old pupils who have been awarded the Certificate of Proficiency by the State Board of Education demonstrated proficiency. The form shall contain at least the following information:


(a) A general explanation of the pupil's rights of exemption from compulsory school attendance and of re-enrollment in the public high schools.


(b) The date of issuance of a certificate of proficiency.


(c) The signature of the parent and the date.


(d) The signature of a school administrator who has personally confirmed the authenticity of the parent's signature and the date.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 33031 and 48412, Education Code. Reference: Section 48410, Education Code.

§ 11524. Waiver of Fees.


(a)
The contractor selected to administer the examination shall not collect fees from individuals who are under 25 years of age, meet all other registration requirements, and are verified to be homeless by a homeless services provider as defined in Education Code section 48412, except for fees for additional services not related to regular test registration including, but not limited to, registration for a test administration after the regular registration deadline set by the contractor, request to change the testing date after the regular registration deadline set by the contractor, request for a transcript or duplicate certificate, or request to expedite services. The contractor shall not charge fees to individuals who are verified to be homeless for any other administrative services without prior approval of the CDE.


(b)
The fee waiver for individuals who are under age 25 and are verified to be homeless by a homeless services provider as defined in Education Code section 48412 shall include only fees for services related to test administration. The fee waiver shall not include fees for services or documents required to verify the need for testing accommodations, test preparation, or other services not related to test administration. 
NOTE: Authority cited: Section 48412, Education Code. Reference: Section 48412, Education Code.

§ 11525.  Homeless Certification.


(a) To be eligible for a fee waiver, at the time of registration for a test administration, a homeless youth must submit all standard required registration materials to the contractor including documentation required for all testing accommodations that the individual may need and an original completed Homeless Certification Form.


(b) Only the Homeless Certification Form may be used to certify that the registrant is homeless. The Homeless Certification Form must include all of the following information:


(1) The full legal name of the registrant;


(2) The date of birth of the registrant;


(3) The signature of the registrant affirming, under penalty of perjury, a statement that he or she is homeless and under 25 years of age;


(4) The printed name of the homeless services provider;


(5) The title of the homeless services provider;


(6) The business address, phone number, and e-mail address of the homeless services provider;


(7) The signature of the homeless services provider affirming, under penalty of perjury, a statement that he or she is an authorized homeless services provider and that the registrant is homeless as defined in Education Code section 48412;


(8) The date that the Homeless Certification Form is completed by the homeless services provider; and


(9) The date the Homeless Certification Form expires.


(c) The Homeless Certification Form is valid for a period of one year from the certification date and may be renewed annually until the certified homeless youth reaches 25 years of age. If the certified homeless youth reaches 25 years of age within one year from the certification date, the Homeless Certification Form will be valid only until one day before the certified homeless youth reaches 25 years of age.


(d) The homeless services provider or the provider’s agency shall retain a copy of all Homeless Certification Forms issued to certified homeless youth until each certified homeless youth reaches 28 years of age. The homeless services provider or the provider’s agency shall make copies of Homeless Certification Forms available to the CDE upon request.


(e) The contractor shall retain all original Homeless Certification Forms issued to certified homeless youth until each homeless youth reaches 28 years of age. The contractor shall make original Homeless Certification Forms available to the CDE upon request.

NOTE:  Authority cited:  Sections 33031 and 48412, Education Code. Reference:  Sections 48410 and 48412, Education Code.
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May 12, 2016

NOTICE OF PROPOSED EMERGENCY ACTION

California High School Proficiency Examination (CHSPE)

Pursuant to the requirements of Government Code section 11346.1(a)(1), the State Board of Education (SBE) is providing notice of proposed emergency action with regards to the above-entitled emergency regulation.

SUBMISSION OF COMMENTS

Government Code section 11346.1(a)(2) requires that, at least five working days prior to submission of the proposed emergency action to the Office of Administrative Law (OAL), the adopting agency provide a Notice of the Proposed Emergency Action to every person who has filed a request for notice of regulatory action with the agency. After submission of the proposed emergency to the OAL, the OAL shall allow interested persons five calendar days to submit comments on the proposed emergency regulations as set forth in Government Code section 11349.6.

Any interested person may present statements, arguments or contentions, in writing, submitted via U.S. mail, e-mail or fax, relevant to the proposed emergency regulatory action. Written comments submitted via U.S. mail, e-mail or fax must be received at the OAL within five days after the SBE submits the emergency regulations to the OAL for review.

Please reference submitted comments as regarding “California High School Proficiency Examination” addressed to:

Mailing Address:
Reference Attorney                          
Debra Thacker, Reg Coordinator

  
Office of Administrative Law
California Department of Education


300 Capitol Mall, Suite 1250
Administrative Support &
Sacramento, CA 95814
Regulations Adoption




1430 N Street, Suite 5319




Sacramento, CA 95814

E-mail Address: 
staff@oal.ca.gov 
regcomments@cde.ca.gov 

Fax No.: 
916-323-6826
916-319-0155
For the status of the SBE submittal to the OAL for review, and the end of the five-day written submittal period, please consult the Web site of the OAL at http://www.oal.ca.gov under the heading “Emergency Regulations.”
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