CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION ATTENDANCE AND FISCAL
REPORT FOR CALIFORNIA STATE PRESCHOOL PROGRAMS WITH EARLY
CHILDHOOD MENTAL HEALTH CONSULTATION SERVICES (07/19)

Child Development Nutrition and Fiscal Services CDNFS 8501MHCS Instructions

Child Care and Development contractors operating a California State Preschool
Program (CSPP) with Mental Health Consultation Services

To receive the Mental Health Consultation Services adjustment factors, this form must
be used when submitting a report. Contractors that do not utilize the Mental Health
Consultation Services should continue to submit reports on the existing CDNFS 8501.

Please print on both sides of the paper in landscape format and don’t use negative
numbers anywhere on the report.

Report Deadlines

Reports must be submitted in accordance with the Child Care and Development
contract Funding Terms and Conditions (FT&C) and Program requirements. Monthly
reporting is required by contractors who are on Conditional or Provisional status. All
other contractors will submit reports according to the time lines listed below:

Period Ending DUE to CDNFS (postmarks do not qualify as receipt dates)
September 30 October 20

December 31 January 20

March 31 April 20

June 30 July 20

How to Submit the Report

Submitting the report is the responsibility of the contractor. The principal administrative
officer may assign a contractor designee for completion of the report, but the
contractor’s Board of Directors is responsible for the accurate and timely submission of
the report.

In order for a report to be valid, it must be complete, signed, and dated by the contractor
designee and only original signatures are acceptable. Invalid reports or reports not
received in the Child Development and Nutrition Fiscal Services Unit by the 20t™ of the
month following the end of the reporting period, or the next business day if the 20t falls
on a weekend or a state holiday, will be deemed delinquent and all subsequent
apportionments will be withheld until reporting requirements have been met.

How to complete the report
The following required information at the top of page 1 must be completed or the report
may be deemed invalid and apportionments may be withheld. Once entered, this



information will auto-populate on remaining report pages.

Full Name of Contractor - Enter Contractor Name

Report Month/Year - Enter the Month and Year for the reporting period
Fiscal Analyst - Enter the Fiscal Analyst

Contract Number - Enter the contract number

County - Enter the name of the county

Vendor Code - Enter the vendor code

How to Report Certified Children by Time Base Categories

A child enrolled under 4 hours is considered half-time.

A child enrolled 4 hours to under 6.5 hours is considered three-quarters-time.
A child enrolled 6.5 hours to under 10.5 hours is considered full-time.

A child enrolled 10.5 hours and over is considered full-time-plus.

The category “Limited and Non-English Proficient” is only for children 2 years of age
through kindergarten age. NOTE: Children placed in Family Child Care Homes (FCCH)
from CSPP must be reported in the appropriate category.

Reporting Enrollment for Certified Children — Pages 1, 2, 6, and 7

A family is considered to be enrolled in the program when the application and
certification forms have been completed, information has been verified, and forms have
been signed. Report children who have been certified as eligible for the California
Department of Education (CDE) subsidized services and are served in a classroom(s)
where Early Childhood Mental Health Consultation Services are provided on Pages 1
and 2. If there are other certified children that are not served in a classroom(s) where
Early Childhood Mental Health Consultation Services are provided, those children will
be reported on pages 6 and 7.

Enter the number of children enrolled in the appropriate category. For the first report of
the fiscal year, use only the Current Period column to enter enrollment data. The
Cumulative Prior Period column remains blank. The Cumulative Fiscal Year column and
the Adjusted Days of Enrollment Columns will auto populate.

Beginning with the second report of the year, enter data from the Cumulative Fiscal
Year column of the previous report into the Cumulative Prior Period column. Any
adjustments to figures reported in a prior period should be made in the Cumulative Prior
Period column and state the reasons for the adjustments stated in the Comments
section on Page 12 or on a separate sheet of paper. Report current period data in the
Current Period column. The Cumulative Fiscal Year column is the sum of the
Cumulative Prior Period column and the Current Period Column. The Adjusted Days of
Enrollment column is the product of the Cumulative Fiscal Year and the corresponding
“adjustment factors” column.



Total Certified Days of Enrollment — The sum of all Certified Days of Enroliment for
children being served in a classroom with mental health consultation services for all of
the categories are shown on Page 2. Certified children that are not served in a
classroom(s) where Early Childhood Mental Health Consultation Services are shown on
Page 7.

The Total Days of Enroliment for Certified Children from Page 2 and from Page 7 are
combined on the Summary Page, Page 14.

Reporting Days of Operation — Pages 2 and 7

A Day of Operation is a day the contractor provides child care and development
services for one or more certified children enrolled. For the first report of the fiscal year,
enter the Days of Operation for children being served in a classroom(s) where Early
Childhood Mental Health Consultation Services are provided for the Current Period on
Page 2, in the Current Period column. The Cumulative Fiscal Year will auto populate. If
there are Days of Operation for certified children that are not served in a classroom(s)
where Early Childhood Mental Health Consultation Services are provided, those Days of
Operation will be reported on Page 7. The Cumulative Fiscal Year will auto populate.
Beginning with the second report, enter data from the Cumulative Fiscal Year column
from the previous report into the Cumulative Prior Period column and enter the Current
Period data in the Current Period column. Days of Operation for children being served
in a classroom with mental health consultation services on Page 2, should equal to the
days of operation for certified children as shown on Page 7. Total Days of Operation for
Certified Children from Page 2 and from Page 7 are combined on the Summary Page,
Page 14.

Reporting Days of Attendance — Pages 2 and 7

A child is in attendance when he or she is present in the program for any part of a day
or when he or she has an excused absence due to illness or quarantine, illness or
guarantine of the parent, family emergency, court-ordered visitation, or a reason which
is clearly in the best interest of the child. This number must be equal to or less than the
Days of Enrollment.

For the first report of the fiscal year, enter Days of Attendance for children being served
in a classroom with mental health consultation services for the Current Period on Page
2, in the Current Period column. The Cumulative Fiscal Year will auto populate. If there
are Days of Attendance for certified children that are not served in a classroom(s) where
Early Childhood Mental Health Consultation Services are provided, those Days of
Attendance will be reported on Page 7. The Cumulative Fiscal Year column will auto
populate. Beginning with the second report, enter the data from the Cumulative Fiscal
Year column previous report into the Cumulative Prior Period column and enter the
Current Period data in the Current Period column.

Total Days of Attendance for Certified Children from Page 2 and from Page 7 are
combined on the Summary Page, Page 14.

Non-Certified Children — Pages 3, 4,5, 8,9, and 10



Non-Certified Children for children with Mental Health Consultant Services — If your
program does not serve non-certified children with Mental Health Consultant Services,
click the check box at the bottom of Page 2 indicating No Non-certified Children with
Mental Health Consultant Services and do not submit pages 3, 4, and 5 of the report
form. If the box is not checked, you must complete and submit pages 3, 4, and 5 or the
report may be considered incomplete and delinquent.

Non-Certified Children — If your program does not serve non-certified children click the
box on the bottom of page 7 indicating No Non-certified Children and do not submit
pages 8, 9, and 10 of the report form. If the box is not checked, you must complete and
submit pages 8, 9, and 10 or the report may be considered incomplete and delinquent.

Reporting Non-Certified Children, Pages 3, 4, 5, 8, 9, and 10 — Report non-certified
children with Mental Health Consultant Services on Pages 3, 4, and 5 in the appropriate
category the same way as reporting certified children above. Report non-certified
children on pages 8, 9, and 10 in the appropriate category the same way as reporting
certified children. Non-certified children are served in the same classroom and at the
same time as certified children and are supported by another funding source (which
may be another CDE contract type).

Total Non-Certified Days of Enrollment — Total Non-Certified Days of Enrollment Page 5
and Page 10 will be combined and the total will be shown on Summary Page, Page 14.

Revenue and Expenses — Pages 11 and 12

Page 11 — Report all revenue related to the program for both certified and non-certified
children. Do not report child development apportionment payments received from the
CDE or funds required to be reported on Page 13, Supplemental Revenue and
Expenses.

Restricted Income — Is income that may only be expended for certified children or is
provided for specific, limited purposes (California Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 5,
Section 18013(t)).

Child Nutrition Programs — Report Child Nutrition Program revenue received for child
development programs is reported as restricted income.

County Maintenance of Effort — Report Maintenance of Effort funds received from the
county pursuant to California Education Code Section 8279, which are restricted for
childcare operating costs, in the current fiscal year.

Note: Report unrestricted Maintenance of Effort funds under Unrestricted Income
“Other”.

OTHER - Report field trip fees, sale of state purchased equipment, etc.

Transfer from Reserve — List the dollar amount for any transfers of funds from the
Reserve Account during the fiscal year in the appropriate category. CSPP Transfers



from Reserve must be separated into CSPP General Transfers and CSPP Professional
Development Transfers."

CSPP contractors can retain a reserve fund balance equal to 15 percent of the sum of
the MRAs of all center-based contracts contributing to the reserve. In addition to the
previous 5 percent cap, now referred to as the CSPP General Reserve amount,
contractors may retain an additional cap of 10 percent referred to as the CSPP
Professional Development Reserve amount. The 5 percent CSPP General Reserve
amount will continue to be used for “reasonable and necessary costs” (Education Code
Section 8450) in excess of contract reimbursement for any center-based contract
administered by the contractor. The 10 percent CSPP Professional Development
Reserve amount is intended for, and will be restricted to, expenditures specifically
associated with the professional development of CSPP instructional staff. NOTE:
Transfers from a Reserve Account can be made only to contracts of the same type as
the Reserve Account, and must be reported as Transfer from Reserve Fund for the
contract that receives the transfer. Be sure to include corresponding expenses on Page
12.

Family Fees for Certified Children — Report family fees collected for certified children
attending full-day preschool classrooms.

Interest Earned on Apportionment Payments — Report all interest earned on advanced
CDE funds for this contract.

Unrestricted Income — Report income that the donor has not restricted for use for
certified children or income the donor has restricted for purposes that are not
reimbursable to the contract, including services to children not subsidized by the
contract.

Fees for non-certified children — Fees collected for children commingled with state
children and paid for by a non-state source.

Head Start Note: Report Head Start funds partnered with part-day preschool to create a
full-day of care as Unrestricted Income.

Page 12 — Reimbursable Expenses: Report all expenses related to the program for both
certified and non-certified children. Include all expenses related to the income reported
on Page 11, plus contract funds. Title 5, Section 18063 regulations require that
“Contractors shall report expenditures on an accrual basis.” Report costs as they occur
rather than when they are actually paid. Please round to whole numbers.

Direct Payment to Providers (FCCH only) — Report provider payments for children
served in Family Child Care Homes.

Certified Salaries — Salaries paid to employees in positions that require a credential or
permit issued by the Commission on Teacher Credentialing, or a related Administrative



Services Credential. (Refer to FT&C for staffing qualifications.)
Classified Salaries — All other salaries that are not certificated.

Employee Benefits — Employers' contributions to retirement plans and health and
welfare benefits.

Books and Supplies — Expenditures for books and supplies including costs of sales/use
tax, freight, and handling charges.

Services and Other Operating Expenses — Expenditures for services, rentals, leases,
maintenance contracts, dues, travel, insurance, utilities, legal, and other operating
expenditures.

Other Approved Capital Outlay — Amounts paid for fixed assets or additions to fixed
assets, including land or existing buildings, the improvements of grounds, construction
of buildings, additions to buildings, remodeling of buildings, or initial and additional
equipment.

As specified in the FT&C, purchases for both New and Replacement Equipment may
require prior written approval by the CDE, Early Care and Learning Division.

New Equipment (program-related) — Expenditures for movable personal property,
including equipment such as vehicles, machinery, computer systems, and playground
equipment.

Equipment Replacement (program related) — Expenditures for equipment replaced on a
piece-for-piece basis. These expenditures must be identified for purposes of the
calculation of the current expense of education (Education Code Section 41372).

Depreciation or Use Allowance — Taxes, insurance and maintenance may be claimed as
part of actual and allowable costs for buildings or building improvements related to the
child development program and equipment necessary for the operation of the program.
See the FT&C for more information.

Start-Up Expenses — Start-up (Service Level Exemption) for eligible contractors will be
identified on the contract face sheet as a dollar amount and is a service-level exemption
which is an amount that may be reimbursed without the required enrollment to earn it.

Budget Impasse Credit — Budget Impasse Credit for eligible contractors will be identified
on the contract face sheet as a dollar amount and is a service level exemption which is
an amount that may be reimbursed without the required enrollment to earn it.

Indirect Costs — If claimed, an indirect cost allocation plan must be on file with the
contractor and available for review by the CDE staff and auditors. This rate is applied to
budget categories 1000-5000 only in determining the maximum amount of indirect costs



that are reimbursable under the contract. Rates are subject to audit verification. Indirect
Costs are capped at 10% for all contractors. If the contractor is a Local Education
Agency, Indirect Costs are capped at 10% or the approved Indirect Cost rate, whichever
is less.

Administrative Costs — Costs for activities that do not provide a direct benefit to the
children, including any allowance for indirect costs and audits. Reimbursement of
administrative costs may not exceed 15 percent of the funds provided.

Staff Training Costs — Center-based contractors may be reimbursed for the costs
associated with up to two days of staff training. Reimbursable costs associated to
staff training days will need to be reported in expense categories 1000 through
5000. In addition, costs associated to staff training days will also need to be
identified on the specified line.

COMMENTS - Provide any information that will assist in understanding unusual
circumstances that are reflected in your report and any changes made to cumulative
prior period data. Changes in days of operation, variations in enrollment or attendance,
and delays in expenditures are some items that require explanations. When a correction
is necessary, an amended report is not required (except for the June year-end).
Adjustments should be made by reporting the corrected figures in the Cumulative Prior
Period column of the next report to be filed. Do not use negative figures in any of the
columns. Note, in the Comments section on Page 9 or on an additional sheet of paper
that the data in the Cumulative Prior Period column reflects changes from prior reports,
so it will be clear that the current data is correct and not a mistake in transferring the
data from the Cumulative Fiscal Year column of the prior report. When an amended
report is submitted, all pages are required (including an original signature).

Supplemental Revenue and Expenses — Page 13

No Supplemental Revenue — If your program has no supplemental revenue you may
omit Page 13 by checking this box on Page 12. If this box is not checked, you must
submit Page 13 or this report will be considered incomplete and delinquent.

Page 13 — Supplemental Revenue: Report all supplemental revenue including income
such as Head Start, First 5 enhancement funds, other enhancement funds, donations
from individuals, foundation grants, corporate grants, or other funds intended to pay for
projects or benefits beyond the basic child development services for certified or
commingled children.

Page 13 — Supplemental Expenses: Expenses listed in this section are to include all
expenses related to the income reported in Supplemental Revenue. CDE will not
reimburse the contractor for any expenses reported on this page. For additional
information, see instructions for Page 12, Reimbursable Expenses.

Summary - Page 14
Page 14 is the summary page from data entered into the report from the previous pages
and the data will auto populate. Contractors are required to sign, date, and fully



complete the contact information or the report may be deemed incomplete.



