FY 2019-20 CSPP Expansion RFA FAQFiscal Year (FY) 2019-20 California State Preschool Program (CSPP) Expansion Request for Applications Frequently Asked Questions.
Answers to Frequently Asked Questions for Fiscal Year (FY) 2019-20 California State Preschool Program (CSPP) Expansion Funds Request for Applications (RFA)
What is a Family Child Care Home Education Network (FCCHEN)?Pursuant to California Education Code (EC) Section 8245(a), FCCHENs are entities organized under law to operate family child care home education programs to support educational objectives in licensed homes for children eligible for subsidized child care. Further, pursuant to EC Section 8245(b), FCCHEN programs must include curriculum, but is not limited to, all of the following:
- Age and developmentally appropriate activities
- Care and supervision
- Parent education
- Identification of child and family health or social needs and provision of appropriate referrals for services
- Training and support for the FCCHEN providers and staff
- Assessment of each FCCHEN provider to ensure high quality of educational program activities
- Assessment of each child enrolled in the program using the Desired Results Developmental Profile (DRDP) System
FCCHENs are operated and administered by either public or private agencies, or local educational agencies. These agencies may provide child development services for eligible three and four-year-old children under the CSPP requirements.
Will Family Child Care Home providers operating a CSPP via a FCCHEN be required to meet the permit required for teachers?
Yes. Family child care home providers providing CSPP services in a FCCHEN operated under a CSPP contract must meet permit requirements outlined in EC Section 8360.
Can an agency submit an application to operate fewer than 246 days?
In accordance with EC Section 8239(b), the minimum days of operation (MDO) for CSPP full-day/full-year programs is 246 day per year, unless a lower MDO is approved in the contract. An agency proposing to operate fewer than 246 days, must include in the application, a justification for operating less than the required MDO.
What determines if a family and/or child is eligible for CSPP services?
The eligibility and need criteria for CSPP services can be found in the CSPP Funding Terms and Conditions.
If teachers have applied for a permit to the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC), does that count as holding a permit?
No. Teachers must possess appropriate child development permits issued by the CTC. The CTC permit matrix is available on the CTC web page .
How does an agency report days of operation if they have more than one site? For example, if the agency has three sites open on the same day, is that counted as three days of operation?
No. Service at any one site is considered one day of operation for the agency. Therefore, if an agency operates one day in multiple sites, it is still considered only one day of operation. Do not double report days of operation.
Is Start-Up Allowance additional funding and separate from the contract Maximum Reimbursable Amount (MRA)?
No. Start-Up Allowance is not additional funding and is part of the total contract MRA. Remember that start-up allowance is a "service level exemption," which allows for reimbursement of expenses an agency incurs prior to full enrollment of children in a new or expanding program.
Can agencies that are not current Early Learning and Care Division (ELCD) contractors that participate in the Child Nutrition Program use their existing vendor numbers?
Yes. Please use the existing vendor number when completing the RFA.
Can a Local Educational Agency (LEA) apply for funds and sub-contract a portion of them to another non-LEA agency?
Yes. With written approval from the ELCD.