Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

21st Century Community Learning Centers - CalEdFacts

This content is part of California Department of Education's information and media guide about education in the State of California. For similar information on other topics, visit the full CalEdFacts.

The No Child Left Behind (NCLB) Act of 2001, signed into law on January 8, 2002, authorizes the California Department of Education to administer the California 21st Century Community Learning Centers (CCLC) Program (NCLB Act, Title IV, Part B). California’s 21st CCLC Program parallels the design of the state After School Education and Safety Program. One key difference is that the California 21st CCLC Program provides funding in five one-year grants with expectations for local sustainability. The 21st CCLC funding primarily serves students in kindergarten through grade twelve who attend schools eligible for Title I schoolwide programs or those that serve a high percentage of students from low-income families. Priority is given to schools designated as in need of improvement.

Eligible 21st CCLC grant applicants include LEAs, cities, counties, community-based organizations, and other public or private entities (which may include faith-based organizations) or a consortium of such entities, agencies, or organizations. NCLB requires all after school programs to implement research-based strategies to assist students in core academic content areas with academic and educational enrichment activities.

Questions: Expanded Learning Division | | 916-319-0923 
Last Reviewed: Monday, February 13, 2017
Related Content
  • 21st Century Community Learning Centers
    Providing funding for programs to focus on academic achievement, enrichment, and family literacy. Eligible entities include districts, cities, counties, community-based organizations and others.
Recently Posted in Before & After School
No items posted in the last 60 days.