Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo
California Department of Education News Release (with no CDE logo)
California Department of Education
News Release
Release: #12-32
April 11, 2012
Contact: Communications
Phone: 916-319-0818

State Schools Chief Tom Torlakson Announces 2011-12
Title I Academic Achievement Award Schools

SACRAMENTO—State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson today announced that 117 California public schools have been selected for the 2011-12 Title I Academic Achievement Award.

"The progress being made at these schools, which serve our neediest students, should serve as a beacon of hope for California. At a time of fiscal crisis and economic uncertainty, they continue to improve, building a brighter future for their students," Torlakson said. "Their accomplishments prove the value of investing in our schools, and I thank the hardworking parents, teachers, administrators and school employees at these campuses for their efforts."

The Title I Academic Achievement Award is given only to schools receiving federal Title I funds as authorized by the Elementary and Secondary Education Act. Title I is the single largest federal educational program for K-12 public education. Title I funds assist schools in meeting the educational needs of students living at or below the poverty line. Of the more than 9,000 schools in California, more than 6,000 of them participate in the Title I program.

The criteria to qualify for the Title I award have become more rigorous in recent years. To meet the criteria for this distinction, the school must demonstrate that all students are making significant progress toward proficiency on California's academic content standards. Additionally, the school's socioeconomically disadvantaged students must have doubled the achievement targets set for them for two consecutive years.

The Title I Achieving Schools will join the newly named California Distinguished Schools for 2012 - Year 2012 and the Blue Ribbon Schools for 2010-11 - Year 2011 at award ceremonies held during the month of May in six different regions throughout the state.

Additionally, each year the National Title I Association presents two National Title I Distinguished School Awards per state. The awards are given to one Academic Achievement Award winning school that has demonstrated exceptional student performance for two or more consecutive years and to one Academic Achievement Award winning school that made the most progress in closing the achievement gap between student groups.

To learn more about Title I awards, please visit the CDE Web page at: Academic Achievement Awards - School/Teacher Recognition. For the list of the winners, please visit 2011-12 Academic Achievement Award Recipients - Academic Achievement Awards.

# # # #

Tom Torlakson — State Superintendent of Public Instruction
Communications Division, Room 5602, 916-319-0818, Fax 916-319-0100

Last Reviewed: Wednesday, December 09, 2020
Recently Posted in News Releases