Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo
California Department of Education News Release (with no CDE logo)
California Department of Education
News Release
Release: #12-99
October 15, 2012
Contact: Communications
Phone: 916-319-0818

State Schools Chief Tom Torlakson Congratulates California
Winners of the Coveted National Blue Ribbon Schools Award

SACRAMENTO—State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson today congratulated 23 California public schools and one private school that have been named by U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan as national Blue Ribbon Schools for 2011-12.

The list of schools is attached.

"I congratulate these dedicated schools for receiving such a prestigious national honor," said Torlakson, who nominated the schools earlier this year. "This recognition was made possible by motivated teachers, administrators, and staff supported by involved parents who worked together to provide their students a firm foundation for a lifetime of learning."

The Blue Ribbon Schools Program is a U.S. Department of Education program. BRSP honors public and private schools from elementary through high schools, whose students achieve at very high levels or have made significant progress and helped close gaps in achievement, especially among disadvantaged and minority students.

Public schools are nominated by each Chief State School Officer (CSSO), including the Department of Defense Education Activity, and the Bureau of Indian Education. Based on state data, the CSSO must certify that the nominated schools meet one of two eligibility criteria:

  • Exemplary High-Performing defined as the achievement of the school's students in the most recent year tested places the school among the highest -performing schools in the state on state assessments of reading (or English language arts) and mathematics, and disaggregated results for student subgroups, including students from disadvantaged backgrounds, must be similar to the results for all students tested.
  • Exemplary-Improving defined as schools that have at least 40 percent of their students from disadvantaged backgrounds and have improved student performance to high levels in English-language arts and mathematics on state assessments or assessments referenced against national norms. Disadvantaged means students eligible for free or reduced-priced meals, who receive Title I services, are limited English proficient, migrant, or in need of special services.

Blue Ribbon Schools will be honored at a national awards ceremony on November 12-13 in Washington, D.C., where each winner will receive a plaque and flag. Blue Ribbon winners may fly this flag at their schools as a mark of excellence and a symbol of quality. In its 30-year history, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed this award on nearly 7,000 of America's schools.

Details of the achievements of the 2012 National Blue Ribbon Schools can be found on the U.S. Department of Education's Web site at: National Blue Ribbon Schools [Note: the 2012 National Blue Ribbon Schools are now on the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program [] External link opens in new window or tab. archive page].

For more information on California's past winners, please visit the California Department of Education's Web site at Blue Ribbon Schools.


California Blue Ribbon Public Schools for 2011-12

County District School


Fremont Unified

J. Haley Durham Elementary


Fremont Unified

William Hopkins Junior High

Los Angeles

ABC Unified

Joe A. Gonsalves Elementary

Los Angeles

Arcadia Unified

Baldwin Stocker Elementary

Los Angeles

Bonita Unified

Arma J. Shull Elementary

Los Angeles

Glendale Unified

Anderson W. Clark Magnet High

Los Angeles

Los Angeles Unified

Clover Avenue Elementary

Los Angeles


Stevenson Ranch Elementary


Fullerton Joint Union High

Sunny Hills High


Los Alamitos Unified

Sharon Christa McAuliffe Middle


Orange Unified

Fairhaven Elementary

San Bernardino

Redlands Unified

Judson and Brown Elementary

San Diego

San Diego Unified

San Diego International Studies

San Francisco

San Francisco Unified

Alice Fong Yu Alternative School

San Francisco

San Francisco Unified

Lowell High

San Luis Obispo

San Luis Coastal Unified

Teach Elementary

San Mateo

Redwood City Elementary

North Star Academy

San Mateo

Woodside Elementary

Woodside Elementary

Santa Clara

Cupertino Union

R. I. Meyerholz Elementary

Santa Clara

Los Altos Elementary

Oak Avenue Elementary

Santa Clara

Santa Clara Unified

Millikin Elementary


Ventura Unified

Foothill Technology High

California Blue Ribbon Private School for 2011-12

County City School

Contra Costa

El Cerrito

Tehiyah Day School

Orange Ladera Ranch Stoneybrooke Christian School

# # # #

Tom Torlakson — State Superintendent of Public Instruction
Communications Division, Room 5602, 916-319-0818, Fax 916-319-0100

Last Reviewed: Thursday, October 8, 2020
Recently Posted in News Releases