Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo
California Department of Education News Release (with no CDE logo)
California Department of Education
News Release
Release: #14-97
September 30, 2014
Contact: Communications
Phone: 916-319-0818

State Schools Chief Tom Torlakson Congratulates California Winners of the 2014 National Blue Ribbon Schools Award

SACRAMENTO—State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson today congratulated 26 California public schools that are being recognized as 2014 National Blue Ribbon Schools.

The California schools, which are either high achieving or made significant academic improvement, are among 340 schools in 47 states—290 public (traditional, charter, choice, and magnet) schools and 50 private schools—announced this morning by U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan.

"I commend these amazing schools and their commitment to providing the kind of learning environment in which teachers can excel and students can achieve," Torlakson said. "They have brought out the very best in their students and themselves. I am proud of their success and hope they relish this moment to shine in the national spotlight."

The federal Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private schools from elementary through high school. (There were no private schools from California selected this year.)

Public schools are nominated by each Chief State School Officer (CSSO), including the Department of Defense Education Activity, and the Bureau of Indian Education. The Council for American Private Education nominates private schools. Based on state data the nominated schools must be certified as meeting one of two eligibility criteria:

  • Exemplary High-Performing, defined as the achievement of the school’s students in the most recent year tested placing the school among the highest-performing in the state on assessments of reading (or English-language arts) and mathematics. Disaggregated results for student subgroups, including students from disadvantaged backgrounds, must be similar to the results for all students tested.
  • Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing Schools are among their state’s highest-performing schools in closing achievement gaps between a school’s subgroups and all students over the past five years. Student subgroup performance and high school graduation rates for each subgroup are at high levels.

Specifically, for the 2013-2014 award year, the Department strengthened the focus of both categories’ performance criteria around subgroups within a school and improving graduation rates for all students.

National Blue Ribbon Schools will be honored at a national awards ceremony on November 10-11, 2014 in Washington, D.C., where each winner will receive a plaque and flag. Blue Ribbon winners may fly this flag at their schools as a mark of excellence. In its 32-year history, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has presented this award to 7,900 of America's schools.

Details of the achievements of the 2014 National Blue Ribbon Schools can be found on the U.S. Department of Education's [] External link opens in new window or tab. Web site.

California’s National Blue Ribbon Public Schools for 2014
County School District School


Fremont Unified

Mission San Jose Elementary


San Lorenzo Unified

KIPP Summit Academy

Contra Costa

San Ramon Valley Unified

Windemere Ranch Middle


Clovis Unified

Pinedale Elementary

Fresno Fresno Unified University High

Los Angeles

ABC Unified

Gretchen Whitney High

Los Angeles

Compton Unified

Tibby Elementary

Los Angeles

Compton Unified

Thomas Jefferson Elementary

Los Angeles

El Rancho Unified

Rio Vista Elementary

Los Angeles

Hacienda La Puente Unified

Los Molinos Elementary

Los Angeles

Los Angeles Unified

Lanai Road Elementary

Los Angeles

Whittier City Elementary

Wallen L. Andrews Elementary



Frank Sparkes Elementary


Calistoga Joint Unified

Calistoga Elementary


Fountain Valley Elementary

Newland (William T.) Elementary


Huntington Beach City Elementary

Huntington Seacliff Elementary


Los Alamitos Unified

Rossmoor Elementary

San Bernardino

San Bernardino City Unified

Hillside Elementary

San Diego

Poway Unified

Del Sur Elementary

San Francisco

San Francisco Unified

Clarendon Alternative Elementary

San Mateo

Las Lomitas Elementary

La Entrada Middle

Santa Clara

Cupertino Union

Nelson S. Dilworth Elementary

Santa Clara Fremont Union High School District Monta Vista High

Santa Clara

Los Altos

Ardis G. Egan Junior High

Santa Clara

Los Altos

Georgina P. Blach Junior High

Santa Clara

Santa Clara County Office of Education

Bullis Purissima Charter

# # # #

Tom Torlakson — State Superintendent of Public Instruction
Communications Division, Room 5602, 916-319-0818, Fax 916-319-0100

Last Reviewed: Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Recently Posted in News Releases