Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo
California Department of Education News Release (with no CDE logo)
California Department of Education
News Release
Release: #15-74
September 29, 2015
Contact: Communications
Phone: 916-319-0818

State Schools Chief Tom Torlakson Congratulates California
Winners of the 2015 National Blue Ribbon Schools Award

SACRAMENTO—State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson today congratulated 29 California public and four private schools that are being recognized as 2015 National Blue Ribbon Schools.

The California winners of the coveted award are among 285 public (traditional, charter, choice, and magnet) schools and 50 private schools announced this morning by U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan.

"California's newly selected Blue Ribbon Schools are among the best in the nation and reflect our state's commitment to preparing students for college and career," Torlakson said. "We celebrate these models of excellence as they shine in the national spotlight. I congratulate all the hardworking students, teachers, parents, staff, and administrators who made this recognition possible."

The federal Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private schools from elementary through high school.

Public schools are nominated by each Chief State School Officer (CSSO), including the Department of Defense Education Activity, and the Bureau of Indian Education. The Council for American Private Education nominates private schools.

The California schools were recognized as Exemplary High Performing Schools and were required to be performing in the top 15 percent of schools statewide as measured by state assessments.

National Blue Ribbon Schools will be honored at a national awards ceremony on November 9-10, 2015 in Washington, D.C., where each winner will receive a plaque and flag. Blue Ribbon winners may fly this flag at their schools as a mark of excellence. In its 33-year history, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has presented this award to more than 8,000 of America's schools.

Details of the 2015 National Blue Ribbon Schools can be found on the U.S. Department of Education 2015 National Blue Ribbon Schools web page [] External link opens in new window or tab..

California's National Blue Ribbon Public Schools for 2015
County District School


Alameda Unified

Alameda Science and Technology Institute


Dublin Unified

James Dougherty Elementary


Oakland Unified

Montclair Elementary


Pleasanton Unified

Vintage Hills Elementary

Contra Costa

Acalanes Union High

Campolindo High

Contra Costa

Lafayette Elementary

Happy Valley Elementary

Contra Costa

Orinda Union Elementary

Del Rey Elementary

Contra Costa

San Ramon Valley Unified

Neil A. Armstrong Elementary

El Dorado

Buckeye Union Elementary

Oak Meadow Elementary


Fresno Unified

Manchester Gate

Los Angeles

Antelope Valley Union High

SOAR High (Students On Academic Rise)

Los Angeles

La Cañada Unified

La Cañada High

Los Angeles

Las Virgenes Unified

Yerba Buena Elementary

Los Angeles

Long Beach Unified

Naples Elementary

Los Angeles

Los Angeles Unified

KIPP Raices Academy

Los Angeles

Manhattan Beach Unified

Grand View Elementary

Los Angeles

Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified

Montemalaga Elementary

Los Angeles

Redondo Beach Unified

Alta Vista Elementary

Los Angeles

San Marino Unified

Valentine Elementary

Los Angeles

William S. Hart Union High

Academy of the Canyons


Reed Union Elementary

Bel Aire Elementary


Nevada Joint Union High

William & Marian Ghidotti High


Santa Ana Unified

Middle College High


Riverside Unified

Lake Mathews Elementary

San Bernardino

Chino Valley Unified

Country Springs Elementary

San Diego

Poway Unified

Deer Canyon Elementary

San Joaquin

Lodi Unified

Middle College High

Santa Clara

Evergreen Elementary

James Franklin Smith Elementary

Santa Clara

Mountain View Whisman

Frank L. Huff Elementary

California's National Blue Ribbon Private Schools for 2015
County City School

Los Angeles

Chino Hills

Heights Christian Schools
Chino Hills campus

Los Angeles


Legacy Christian Academy

Orange County


New Horizon School

San Diego County

Solana Beach

Santa Fe Christian Middle School

# # # #

Tom Torlakson — State Superintendent of Public Instruction
Communications Division, Room 5602, 916-319-0818, Fax 916-319-0100

Last Reviewed: Friday, March 5, 2021
Recently Posted in News Releases