Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo
California Department of Education News Release (with no CDE logo)
California Department of Education
News Release
Release: #18-18
February 27, 2018
Contact: Scott Roark
Phone: 916-319-0818

State Superintendent Torlakson Announces Appointments to Statewide Panel for Computer Science Education

SACRAMENTO—State Superintendent Tom Torlakson has announced his appointments to the Computer Science Strategic Implementation Plan Panel (CSSIPP), which aims to expand and improve computer science education statewide in grades K–12. The panel has its first meeting on March 1, 2018.

Torlakson appointed five members of the 23-member panel. “I’m excited that this panel is beginning the work of strengthening computer science education in California,” he said. ‘We are preparing students for today’s and tomorrow’s career and college opportunities—and for the jobs of the future that haven’t yet been invented. Jobs and skills we must have in a fiercely competitive global economy.”

The panel will submit recommendations for a computer science strategic implementation plan to the Superintendent, the State Board, and the Legislature. The plan will include, but not be limited to, recommendations to broaden the pool of teachers to teach computer science and to ensure that all pupils have access to quality computer science courses.

The following five individuals were appointed by Superintendent Torlakson to the panel:

Shauna Hawes, Teacher, Valley View Middle School

Deanna Heimbigner, Teacher, Richmond Elementary School         

Shirley Miranda, Teacher, San Diego Unified School District

Debra Richardson, Professor of Informatics, Founding Dean of Bren School of Information and Computer Science, University of California, Irvine.

Bryan Twarek, Computer Science Program Administrator, San Francisco Unified School District

Other members of the Computer Science Strategic Information Plan Panel were appointed by the State Board of Education, the Governor, the Speaker of the Assembly, and the Senate Rules Committee:

Susan Bonilla, State Director, Council for a Strong America/Former California Assemblymember

Yun “Jenny” Tzu Chien, Teacher, Vista Unified School District (2017 California Teacher of the Year)

Andrea Deveau, Vice President for State Policy and Politics, TechNet                  

Shirley Diaz, Assistant Superintendent, Glenn County Office of Education                      

Julie Flapan, Executive Director, ACCESS and Director, Computer Science Project, Center X, University of California, Los Angeles     

Jose Gonzalez, Superintendent, Planada Elementary School District                   

Rishi Kumar, City Council Member, City of Saratoga, Solix Technologies Inc.

Janell Miller, Teacher, Sanger Unified School District

David Miyashiro, Superintendent, Cajon Valley Unified School District

Sathya Narayanan, Professor of Computer Science, California State University, Monterey Bay    

Gayle Nicholls-Ali, Teacher, La Cañada High School

Agodi Onyeador, Student

Michael Pazzani, Vice Chancellor of Research and Economic Development/Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, University of California, Riverside                

Dean Reese, Teacher, Tracy Unified School District   

Solomon Russell, Assistant Professor, El Camino College

Mehran Sahami, Professor of Computer Science, Stanford University                   

Claire Shorall, Teacher, Life Academy High School of Health and Bioscience    

Vandana Sikka, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Learnee Inc.          

The Computer Science Strategic Implementation Plan Panel meetings are scheduled for the following dates and locations. All meetings are open to the public.

March 1–2, 2018
Stanley Mosk Library and Courts Building
914 Capitol Mall, Room 500
Sacramento, CA 95814

April 11–12, 2018
California Department of Education
1430 N Street, Room 1101
Sacramento, CA 95814

June 25–26, 2018
California Department of Education
1430 N Street, Room 1101
Sacramento, CA 95814

# # # #

Tom Torlakson — State Superintendent of Public Instruction
Communications Division, Room 5602, 916-319-0818, Fax 916-319-0100

Last Reviewed: Friday, July 30, 2021
Recently Posted in News Releases