
FINAL STATEMENT OF REASONS
Local Educational Agencies Exempt from Licensing
UPDATE OF INITIAL STATEMENT OF REASONS
The original proposed text was made available for public comment for at least 45 days from October 4, 2019, through November 18, 2019. Five individuals provided comments during the 45-day comment period.
[bookmark: _GoBack]A public hearing was held at 8:30 a.m. on November 18, 2019, at the California Department of Education (CDE). No individuals attended the public hearing. 
It is important to note that while, the State Superintendent of Public Instruction (SSPI) has general rulemaking authority for child care and development programs pursuant to Education Code section 8261 of the Child Care And Development Services Act, Health and Safety Code (H&SC) section 1596.7925 required that the CDE adopt these health and safety regulations pursuant to title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5 CCR). Thus, all documents in this regulatory package should reference the CDE, and not the SSPI, as the authority charged with rulemaking.
SUMMARY AND RESPONSE TO COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING THE INITIAL NOTICE PERIOD OF OCTOBER 4, 2019, THROUGH NOVEMBER 18, 2019.
The CDE received five written comments during the 45-day comment period. A summary of comments, and CDE’s responses, are set forth in the attached chart. The comments received were:
· [bookmark: _Hlk31189283]Letter #1: Eric Sonnenfeld, Assistant Administrator, Tulare County Office of Education
· Letter #2:  Nina Buthee, Executive Director, EveryChild California
· [bookmark: _Hlk21531615]Letter #3: Patti Prunhuber, Senior Policy Attorney, Child Care Law Center, On behalf of 9 agencies
· Letter #4: Amanda Dickey, Director of Intergovernmental and Legal Affairs, California County Superintendents Educational Services Association (CCSESA), On behalf of 4 agencies
· Letter #5: Jaqueline Wyse, Coordinator of Early Childhood Education, Folsom Cordova Unified School District
After the 45-day comment period, the following changes were made to the proposed text of the regulations and sent out for a 15-day comment period:
SECTION 18140
Section 18140(b) is amended to include “classrooms” and “for any or all classrooms”. This language was added, based on public comment, to clarify that California State Preschool Program (CSPP) may apply on an individual classroom basis for license exemption. This is necessary as some schools may choose to designate some classrooms as exempt from licensing, and adhere to these regulations, and other classrooms as licensed classrooms pursuant to title 22 of the California Code of Regulations. This section was also amended, based on public comment, to include “pursuant to” and “of chapter 19, of this division”. This change is necessary in order to be consistent with H&SC section 1596.792 and to clarify that subchapter 12 is within chapter 19, of division 1 in 5 CCR. These changes are necessary for consistency and clarity of these regulations. 
Section 18140(c) is amended to include “in the exempted classrooms”. This change was made, based on public comment, to clarify that local education agencies (LEA) operating CSPP may only serve four-year-old children in the license exempt classrooms. This is necessary as some schools may choose to designate some classrooms as exempt from licensing, and adhere to these regulations, and other classrooms as licensed classrooms pursuant to title 22 of the California Code of Regulations. This section is further amended, based on public comment, to remove “LEAs enrolling” and “in a CSPP classroom” and replace it with “CSPP classrooms with.” This change clarifies that CSPP classrooms, when serving three-year-old children, must meet California Code of Regulations, title 22 requirements. These changes are necessary for clarity and consistency of these regulations.
Section 18140(d) is amended to remove reference to section “18301” and replace it with section “18308”.  This change was made to correct a typographical error. 
SECTION 18150
Section 18150(a) is amended to include the language “new or existing” and “the”. This change was made, based on public comment, to clarify that the kindergarten requirements cited in 5 CCR applies to both new and existing permanent structures for classrooms that are license exempt. The kindergarten requirements cited in 5 CCR only apply to new buildings, therefore this change was necessary to align with the requirements for license-exempt classrooms stated in H&SC section1596.792. This section was further amended based on public comment to replace “set forth in 5 CCR section 14030(h)(2)” with “for kindergarten classrooms in accordance with chapter 13 (commencing with section 14000) of division 1 of 5 CCR.” This change is necessary to align with H&SC section 1596.792 and for a consistent citation of kindergarten requirements throughout these regulations.
SECTION 18155
Section 18155(a)(2) is amended to remove “CSPP” and replace it with “preschool” and include “age.” This change was made, based on public comment, to remove the restriction which limited access only to CSPP, Transitional Kindergarten and Kindergarten children. The changes clarify that children of those ages may have use of outdoor space and not restrict it to specific types of preschool funding or programs. This allows for preschools not funded by CSPP, including special education preschools, to access the space. 
SECTION 18160
Section 18160(a)(1) is amended to remove “CSPP” and replace it with “preschool”, and include “age”. This change was made, based on public comment, to be inclusive of all preschool and kindergarten age children, and to remove the restriction of use of restroom facilities to specific types of preschool funding. This change is necessary for clarity and consistency of these regulations to remove the restriction which limited access only to CSPP, Transitional Kindergarten and Kindergarten children. The changes clarify that children of those ages may have use of outdoor space and not restrict it to specific types of preschool funding or programs. This allows for preschools not funded by CSPP, including special education preschools, to access the space. 
SECTION 18165
Section 18165 is amended to delete the phrase “by way of.” This is necessary as a stylistic change.
COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING THE PERIOD THE 15-DAY NOTICE AND PROPOSED REGULATION TEXT WAS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC
The modified text was made available to the public from January 15, 2020, through 
January 30, 2020. The State Superintendent of Public Instruction did not receive any comments on the modified text.
ALTERNATIVES DETERMINATION 
As discussed in the summaries of and the responses to the public comments, the CDE has determined that no alternative would be more effective in carrying out the purpose for which the regulation is proposed or would be as effective and less burdensome to affected private persons than the proposed regulation or would be more cost effective to affected private persons and equally effective in implementing the statutory policy or other provisions of law.
LOCAL MANDATE DETERMINATION 
The proposed regulations do not impose any mandate on local agencies or school districts. The SSPI published the notices for the 45- and 15-day public comment periods when the notices should have been published by the CDE, pursuant to Government Code section 11346.5.
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