Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

CDMIS Update #19


Child Development Management Information System (CDMIS)
February 20, 2018

Jump to:
Updates to the CDD-801A Report
Extensions to the CDD-801A Report Deadlines
CDD-801A Report Lock Dates
Upcoming CDMIS Technical Assistance Webinar
Change in File Processing Schedule for CDMIS Test Web Site
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Updates to the CDD-801A Report

This notice is to inform all Early Education and Support Division (EESD) contractors that maintenance on the CDD-801A report in the CDMIS is complete.

The CDD-801A report has been updated to reflect recent eligibility changes outlined in the Budget Act of 2017. Agencies should no longer receive error messages when reporting:

  • Children of families whose income is between 70 percent and 85 percent of the 2015 State Median Income (SMI);
  • Children with Exceptional Needs enrolled in the part-day California State Preschool Program (CSPP) whose family income exceeds 85 percent of the SMI; and
  • Twelve-year-old children who turn thirteen years of age during the course of their 12 months of eligibility.

Extensions to the CDD-801A Report Deadlines

Outstanding CDD-801A reports have been extended in accordance with Table A below:

Table A: Extended CDD-801A Report Deadlines for Fiscal Year 2017–18

CDD-801A Report Month/Year Original Report Deadline Extended Deadline
November 2017 December 20, 2017 April 6, 2018
December 2017 January 20, 2018 April 6, 2018
January 2018 February 20, 2018 April 6, 2018
February 2018 March 20, 2018 April 6, 2018


Beginning with the March 2018 report, all CDD-801A report deadlines will return to normal. All CDD-801A reports will be due on the 20th of the month following the end of the report period (i.e. the March 2018 report will be due on April 20, 2018).

These reports will be due on their normal due dates, as shown in Table B below:

Table B: Normal CDD-801A Report Deadlines for Fiscal Year 2017–18

CDD-801A Report Month/Year Report Deadline
March 2018 April 20, 2018
April 2018 May 20, 2018
May 2018 June 20, 2018
June 2018 July 20, 2018

CDD-801A Report Lock Dates

The CDD-801A report months are typically open for approximately sixty (60) days after they are due. After 60 days, the report month is locked. After a report month is locked, no further data entry can be made. You may view data already submitted using the CDD-801A Management Reports.

All CDD-801A reports will be available for editing until the lock date, as shown in Table C below:

Table C: Report Month Lock Dates for Fiscal Year 2017–18

Report Month/Year Lock Date
July 2017
April 6, 2018
August 2017
April 6, 2018
September 2017
April 6, 2018
October 2017
July 6, 2018
November 2017
July 6, 2018
December 2017
July 6, 2018
January 2018
September 20, 2018
February 2018
September 20, 2018
March 2018
September 20, 2018
April 2018
December 20, 2018
May 2018
December 20, 2018
June 2018
December 20, 2018

Upcoming CDMIS Technical Assistance Webinar

The CDMIS will be hosting an in-depth training and technical assistance webinar on Thursday, March 15, 2018 from 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon. We will cover the following topics:

  • Recent Updates and Extended Deadlines
  • Users and System Access
  • CDD-801A Reporting
  • CDD-801B Reporting
  • Updating Program Information
  • Q&A

The PowerPoint Presentation and event web address will be e-mailed to all program directors and active CDMIS users one week prior to the webinar. There is no need to register prior to the webinar. Agencies who participated in the previous CDMIS TA Webinar in December may want to attend for the updates at the beginning of the webinar. The remainder of the content will be identical to the previous webinar.

Change in File Processing Schedule for CDMIS Test Web Site

Due to the high volume of files submitted, the schedule for processing files uploaded to the CDMIS Test Web Site, posted in CDMIS Update - Issue #11, has been changed. The CDMIS Test Web site will now process files every hour from 7:00 a.m. through 7:00 p.m., daily. For example, if you submitted a file to the CDMIS Test Web Site at 10:45 a.m., you can check back as soon as 11:45 a.m. to view the Electronic File Status Report for that file.\

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

When is my CDD-801A report due?

Typically, CDD-801A reports are due on the 20th of the month following the end of the report period. The deadlines for reports outstanding during CDMIS maintenance have been extended in accordance with Table A above. The November 2017, December 2017, January 2018, and February 2018 CDD-801A reports are due on April 6, 2018.

Beginning with the March 2018 report month, all CDD-801A reports will return to their normal deadlines.

Can I make changes to my CDD-801A report after the report deadline?

You may view and edit data submitted in your CDD-801A report until the report month is locked. The CDD-801A report lock dates are provided in Table C above.

Can I make changes to my CDD-801A report after the report lock date?

No changes may be made to CDD-801A reports after the report month lock date.

Can I report families with incomes greater than 70 percent of the SMI?

In order to report family incomes greater than 70 percent of the SMI, the answer to "Family Income Greater than 70 Percent of the State Median Income Level?" must be answered "Yes." You may report these families in the CDD-801A report without error.

For guidance regarding graduated phase-out and re-certifying families whose incomes exceed 70 percent of the SMI, please refer to Management Bulletin 17-09.

How do I report a child with exceptional needs whose family income exceeds the income threshold?

In order to report over-income families of children with exceptional needs in the CDD-801A report, the answers to the following fields must be consistent:

Can I report 13-year-old children in the CDD-801A Report?

Some contractors may have certified 12-year-old children who will turn 13 years of age during the course of their 12 months of eligibility. You may report these children in the CDD-801A report without error.

For guidance on 12-month eligibility, please refer to Management Bulletin 17-14.

I am in a pilot county. How do I report CSPP children born after September 1 in the CDD-801A report?

Agencies participating in the San Mateo, San Francisco, or Alameda county pilots may serve children who turn three years of age between September 1 and December 2 of the fiscal year in which they are served in the California State Preschool Program (CSPP). These CSPP-eligible 3-year-old children may be reported in the CDD-801A report without error.


As always, agencies are welcome to contact the CDMIS Support Team for assistance with any CDMIS reporting questions. Stay tuned for more CDMIS Updates. We welcome your comments, as well as suggestions for topics to be discussed in these updates.

Questions:   CDMIS Support | cdmis@cde.ca.gov | 916-445-1907
Last Reviewed: Tuesday, February 20, 2018