Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

Reimbursement Fact Sheet Fiscal Year 2017-18


Child Care and Development Programs
FY 2017–18 Budget Act
Center-based Direct Services

The following are the governing rates for Fiscal Year (FY) 2017–18 for center-based direct service contracts:

The Standard Reimbursement Rate (SRR) for General Child Care (CCTR) and Migrant (CMIG) is $45.44 per child day of enrollment (cde) or $11,360 per annum based on 250 days of operation (California Education Code [EC] Section 8265(b) and State Budget Act of 2017, Item 6100-194-0001, Provision 5).

The SRR for a full-day California State Preschool Program (CSPP) reimbursement rate is $45.73 per cde or $11,432.50 per annum based on 250 days of operation (EC Section 8265[b] and State Budget Act of 2017, Item 6100-196-0001, Provision 3).

Adjustment Factors
Applicable to reimbursement in accordance with the SRR (EC Section 8265.5)
Children Meeting Specified Criteria Adjustment Factor Adjusted SRR
as $45.44
Adjusted Full-Day State Preschool Rate as $45.73
Infants (birth up to 18 months) 1.7
$77.25 per cde
N/A
Toddlers (18 months up to 36 months)
1.4
$63.62 per cde
N/A
Family Child Care Homes infants and toddlers (birth up to 36 months)
1.4
$63.62 per cde
N/A
Exceptional Needs
1.2
$54.53 per cde
$54.88 per cde
Limited or Non-English Proficient
1.1
$49.98 per cde
$50.30 per cde
Children At Risk of Abuse or Neglect
1.1
$49.98 per cde
$50.30 per cde
Severely Disabled
1.5
$68.16 per cde
$68.60 per cde

The part-day CSPP reimbursement rate is $28.32 per cde or $4,956.00 per annum for 175 days of operation (State Budget Act of 2017, Item 6100-196-0001, Provision 3).

The rate for Bay Area Handicapped programs is $72.97 per cde.

Age Classifications for Eligibility
Age Classification and Time Base Center-Based Regional Market Rate
Infants
Birth up to 18 months
Birth up to 24 months
Toddlers
18 months up to 36 months
N/A
Preschool Age
36 months up to Kindergarten
24 month up to age 6
School Age
Kindergarten up to age 13
6 years up to 13 years
Time base: Full-time
6.5 + hours per day
30 + hours per week
Questions:   Early Education and Support Division | 916-322-6233
Last Reviewed: Thursday, September 28, 2017
Recently Posted in Child Development
  • FY 2018-19 CFA Instructional Webinar (added 19-Oct-2017)
    Instructional webinar presented on October 17, 2017 for the Fiscal Year (FY) 2018-19 Continued Funding Application (CFA).
  • FY 2018-19 CFA Instructional Webinar Transcript (added 19-Oct-2017)
    Transcript of an instructional webinar conducted on October 17, 2017 for the Fiscal Year (FY) 2018-19 Continued Funding Application (CFA).
  • Staffing Qualifications (added 17-Oct-2017)
    Education, experience, and permit requirements for child care and development providers.
  • California Career Lattice Educational Requirements (added 16-Oct-2017)
    A chart depicting the California Career Lattice Educational Requirements.
  • Draft Letter to Governor (added 16-Oct-2017)
    Draft letter to Governor Brown requesting authorization for the State Advisory Council on Early Learning and Care (SAC) to update and improve the 2013 California Comprehensive Early Learning Plan (CCELP).

  • Letter to the State Advisory Council (added 16-Oct-2017)
    Letter to the State Advisory Council requesting that the SAC approve a motion to transmit the following letter to the Governor.
  • October 2017 Meeting Materials (added 16-Oct-2017)
    This page contains supplemental materials that will be presented at the October 2017 State Advisory Council Meeting.
  • Management Bulletin 17-13 (added 11-Oct-2017)
    Management Bulletin 17-13 informs contractors that they may use digital applications to allow families to apply for child care and development services.
  • Budget Act of 2017 Implementation FAQ (added 10-Oct-2017)
    Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) in relation to the changes from the Budget Act of 2017.
  • Reimbursement Fact Sheet Fiscal Year 2017-18 (added 28-Sep-2017)
    The Reimbursement Fact Sheet for Fiscal Year 2017-18 provides governing rates for center-based direct service contracts.