Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

Comparison of the CELDT to the ELPAC

California is in the process of transitioning from the California English Language Development Test (CELDT) to the English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC). The CELDT will continue to be administered until the ELPAC becomes operational. The table below shows a brief comparison between the CELDT and the ELPAC. For more information, see the CELDT to ELPAC Proposed Transition Timeline Web page.

Aligned with the 1999 California English Language Development (ELD) Standards with five proficiency levels

Must be aligned with the 2012 California ELD Standards, which have three proficiency levels
(Emerging, Expanding, and Bridging)

One test used for two purposes: initial assessment and annual assessment

Two separate tests for two purposes: (1) initial identification; and (2) annual summative assessment. The initial identification will be brief and locally scored.
Paper-pencil tests

Paper-pencil tests with a potential to transition to
computer-based tests

July 1–October 31 Annual Assessment window
Annual Summative Assessment window to be a four month period after January 1 (proposed February 1–May 31), allowing for more pre-test instructional time

Five grades/grade spans:
K–1, 2, 3–5, 6–8, and 9–12

Seven grades/grade spans:
K, 1, 2, 3–5, 6–8, 9–10, and 11–12

Five performance levels
Four performance levels

Reporting domains: Listening, Speaking, Reading, and Writing

Reporting domains: Listening, Speaking, Reading, and Writing

Questions:   English Language Proficiency and Spanish Assessments Office | | 916-319-0784
Last Reviewed: Thursday, January 18, 2018
Recently Posted in Testing