Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

General Educational Development Test (GED)

The GED test is for adults who do not have a high school diploma. Those who pass the test receive a California High School Equivalency Certificate.

In California, persons who are 18 years of age or older may take the GED test. Some 17-year-olds who meet specific criteria for testing may also take the test.

Testing centers throughout California give the test many times during the year. The GED test covers five subjects: reading, writing, math, science, and social studies. There is a fee to take the test.           

  • For additional information about the GED, you may contact your local adult school or testing center.
  • The GED - CalEdFacts page provides a more detailed overview about the test.
  • The links and information below were developed for educators and others who work with the GED Test programs in California.

GED Testing Service Web site External link opens in new window or tab.

Frequently Asked Questions

GED Testing Centers by County (2013 and Prior)

GED Testing Centers by City (2013 and Prior)

Closed GED Testing Centers

GED® and GED Testing Service® are registered trademarks of the American Council on Education® and may not be used or reproduced without written permission.

Questions:   High School and Physical Fitness Assessment Office | | 916-445-9438
Last Reviewed: Tuesday, March 6, 2018
Recently Posted in Testing
  • SB Interim Assessments Glance (PDF) (added 28-Aug-2018)
    This document provides a list of available Smarter Balanced (SB) Interim Assessment Blocks for the 2018?19 school year by content area and grade level.
  • Smarter Balanced Interim Assessment At A Glance (PDF) (added 28-Aug-2018)
    This document identifies the total number of items on each Interim Assessment Block and Interim Comprehensive Assessment for high school.