Skip to content

California School Age Families Education

NOTE: The application due date for this program has passed.

California School Age Families Education (Cal-SAFE) is a comprehensive, integrated, community-linked, school-based program for expectant and parenting students and their children. Local educational agencies (LEAs) that were approved in fiscal year (FY) 2006-07 will declare their intent to continue operation in the 2007-08 Consolidated Application, Part 1.

Eligibility

Eligible
Applicants
Local educational agencies
Required
Eligibility
Criteria
LEAs that, as of October 1, 1999, operated one of the following either directly or by contract are eligible: 1) Pregnant Minor Program (PMP); 2) School Age Parenting and Infant Development (SAPID) Program; or 3) Pregnant and Lactating Students (PALS) Program. The LEAs described above and LEAs that demonstrated an unmet need of services to expectant and parenting students and their children received funding.
Other
Eligibility
Considerations
LEAs approved to operate a Cal-SAFE Program in FY 2006-07 are eligible for reauthorization in the 2007-08 Consolidated Application. Funding is appropriated through the annual Budget Act and is subject to availability of that funding.
Eligible
Grade Level(s)
Not applicable
Eligible
Age Level(s)
Not applicable

Funding

Legal
Authority
Education Code sections 54740-54749.5; Budget Item 6110-198-0001
Source / Type State / Apportionment
State Fiscal Year 2007-08
SACS Resource/
Revenue Codes
6091, 6092 / 8590
Total Available $58,173,000
Recipient
Amount
See Allocation Formula.
Match
Requirement
No
Allocation Formula Estimated recipient funding rates for student support services will be $2,680 per average daily attendance. Child care and development services will be the standard reimbursement rate adjusted for the age of the child and the length of the child’s stay in care each day. Reimbursements are based on attendance and enrollment reports submitted to the School Fiscal Services Division, California Department of Education.

Important Dates

Date
Application
Available
Unavailable
Due Date June 30, 2007
Expected
Notification Date
Unavailable

Additional Information

Application Unavailable
Background http://www.cde.ca.gov/ls/cg/pp/index.asp
Fiscal http://www.cde.ca.gov/fg/aa/ca/calsafe.asp
Funding Resultshttp://www.cde.ca.gov/fg/fo/r8/calsafe07result.asp
Other Female and male expectant and parenting students eighteen years or younger are eligible to receive services if they have not earned a high school diploma or its equivalent. If they turn nineteen years of age while they are enrolled, they may be enrolled for one additional semester. Students with an active special education individualized education program (IEP) are eligible regardless of age or grade if they have not yet graduated. Children of enrolled student parents are eligible for child care and development services until the child reaches five years of age or is enrolled in kindergarten, whichever occurs first.

Contacts

Program Nancy Christophel
Phone : 916-319-0541
E-mail : nchristo@cde.ca.gov
Fiscal Julie Klein Briggs
Phone : 916-323-6191
E-mail : jbriggs@cde.ca.gov
Division Coordinated Student Support
Phone : 916-319-0914
Fax : 916-445-7367

Last Modified: February 3, 2014

California Department of Education
1430 N Street
Sacramento, CA 95814

Contact Us  |  FAQ  |  Web Policy