Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

California School Age Families Education

NOTE: The application due date for this program has passed.


Funding Description

Note: Much of the information provided below is outdated. Funding for this program is now unrestricted pursuant to SBX3 4 (Chapter 12, Statutes of 2009), enacted in February 2009. For additional information, please refer to the Action on 2008 and 2009 Budget Acts Web page.

California School Age Families Education (Cal-SAFE) is a comprehensive, integrated, community-linked, school-based program for expectant and parenting students and their children. Local educational agencies (LEAs) that were reauthorized in fiscal year (FY) 2007-08 will declare their intent to continue operation in the 2008-09 Consolidated Application, Part 1.

Eligibility

Eligible Applicants Local educational agencies
Required Eligibility Criteria LEAs approved to operate a Cal-SAFE Program in FY 2007-08 are eligible for reauthorization in the 2008-09 Consolidated Application, Part 1.
Other Eligibility Considerations Funding is appropriated through the annual Budget Act and is subject to availability of that funding.
Eligible Grade Level(s) Not applicable
Eligible Age Level(s) Not applicable

Funding

Legal Authority Education Code sections 54740-54749.5; Budget Item 6110-198-0001
Source / Type State / Apportionment
State Fiscal Year 2008-09
SACS Resource / Revenue Codes 6091, 6092, 6093 / 8590
Total Available $58,395,000
Recipient Amount See Allocation Formula.
Match Requirement No
Allocation Formula Funding is appropriated through the annual Budget Act and is subject to availability of that funding. Estimated recipient funding rates for student support services will be $2,787 per average daily attendance. Child care and development services will be the standard reimbursement rate adjusted for the age of the child and the length of the child’s stay in care each day. Reimbursements are based on attendance and enrollment reports submitted to the School Fiscal Services Division, California Department of Education.

Important Dates

Date Application Available Unavailable
Due Date June 30, 2008
Expected Notification Date Unavailable

Additional Information

Application Unavailable
Background Unavailable
Fiscal Unavailable
Consolidated ApplicationConsolidated Application Information [http://www.cde.ca.gov/fg/aa/co/]
Funding ResultsCal-SAFE  [http://www.cde.ca.gov/fg/fo/r14/calsafe08result.asp]
Other Female and male expectant and parenting students 18 years or younger are eligible to receive services if they have not earned a high school diploma or its equivalent. If they turn 19 years of age while they are enrolled, they may be enrolled for one additional semester. Students with an active special education individualized education program (IEP) are eligible regardless of age or grade if they have not yet graduated. Children of enrolled student parents are eligible for child care and development services until the child reaches five years of age or is enrolled in kindergarten, whichever occurs first.

Contacts

Program Nancy Christophel, 916-319-0541, nchristo@cde.ca.gov
Fiscal Julie Klein Briggs, 916-323-6191, jbriggs@cde.ca.gov
Division Coordinated Student Support, 916-319-0920 (phone), 916-319-0218 (fax)
Last Modified: July 16, 2015

Share this Page

Related Content

Recently Posted in Funding