Skip to content

Special Education: ROC/P Handicapped

This funding is for the attendance of visually impaired, orthopedically impaired, or deaf persons in Regional Occupational Centers/Programs (ROC/Ps).

Eligibility

Eligible
Applicants
Local educational agencies
Required
Eligibility
Criteria
Eligible participants include school districts participating in a regional occupational center or county offices of education (COEs) operating a regional occupational center that provides services to pupils who are: 1) visually impaired, 2) deaf, or 3) orthopedically impaired.
Other
Eligibility
Considerations
Not applicable
Eligible
Grade Level(s)
Not applicable
Eligible
Age Level(s)
15, 16, 17, 18

Funding

Legal
Authority
California Education Code sections 41881, 52314.5, and 52315. Funds appropriated in item 6110-161-0001(1)(4) of the 2011 Budget Act (Chapter 33, Statutes of 2011).
Source / Type State / Apportionment
State Fiscal Year 2011-12
SACS Resource/
Revenue Codes
6360 / 8311
Total Available $5,258,000
Recipient
Amount
See allocation formula.
Match
Requirement
No
Allocation Formula The applicable average daily attendance (ADA) is multiplied by the statutory rate to determine the funding amount. At the annual certification, the district/COE must submit expenditure data in accordance with California Education Code Section 41881. The district/COE receives funding for the lesser of the amount expended or the calculated funding amount. The 2011-12 rates are as follows:

1) Visually impaired: $6,199 per ADA
2) Deaf: $3,549 per ADA
3) Orthopedically impaired: $1,964 per ADA

Important Dates

Date
Application
Available
Unavailable
Due Date Unavailable
Expected
Notification Date
February 17, 2012

Additional Information

Application Unavailable
Background Unavailable
Fiscal http://www.cde.ca.gov/fg/aa/se/rocpapptdat.asp
Funding Resultshttp://www.cde.ca.gov/fg/fo/r14/rocph11result.asp
Other Funds are paid through the Principal Apportionment. Principal Apportionment amounts are calculated three times for each fiscal year: The First Principal Apportionment (P-1) is certified by February 17th, the Second Principal Apportionment (P-2) is certified by July 2nd and the Annual calculation is certified by February 20th of the following year (at the same time as the following year’s P-1 certification).

Contacts

Program Halena Le
Phone : 916-323-6195
E-mail : HLe@cde.ca.gov
Fiscal Shelley Goode
Phone : 916-324-4530
E-mail : SGoode@cde.ca.gov
Division School Fiscal Services Division
Phone : 916-324-4541
Fax : 916-322-5102

Last Modified: February 23, 2012

California Department of Education
1430 N Street
Sacramento, CA 95814

Contact Us  |  FAQ  |  Web Policy