Skip to main content
California Department of Education Logo

California School Age Families Education

NOTE: The application due date for this program has passed.


Funding Description

California School Age Families Education (Cal-SAFE) is a comprehensive, integrated, community-linked, school-based program for expectant and parenting students and their children. Local educational agencies (LEAs) that already received funds in the 2006-07 Consolidated Application, Part 1 will continue their operations. This is a special application cycle to fund new LEAs for fiscal year 2006-2007.

Eligibility

Eligible Applicants Local educational agencies
Required Eligibility Criteria LEAs that, as of October 1, 1999, operated one of the following either directly or by contract are eligible: 1) Pregnant Minor Program (PMP); 2) School Age Parenting and Infant Development (SAPID) Program; or 3) Pregnant and Lactating Students (PALS) Program. The LEAs described above and LEAs that demonstrated an unmet need of services to expectant and parenting students and their children will receive priority funding, contingent upon availability of funds.
Other Eligibility Considerations LEAs approved to operate a Cal-SAFE Program in FY 2005-06 are eligible for reauthorization in the 2006-07 Consolidated Application. Funding is appropriated through the annual Budget Act and is subject to availability of that funding.
Eligible Grade Level(s) Not applicable
Eligible Age Level(s) Not applicable

Funding

Legal Authority Education Code sections 54740-54749.5; Budget Item 6110-198-0001
Source / Type State / Apportionment
State Fiscal Year 2006-07
SACS Resource / Revenue Codes 6091, 6092 / 8590
Total Available $56,133,000
Recipient Amount See Allocation Formula.
Match Requirement No
Allocation Formula An estimated $1,500,000 of the total $56,133,000 is available to fund new LEAs. Recipient funding rates for student support services will be $2,680 per average daily attendance. Child care and development services will be the standard reimbursement rate adjusted for the age of the child and the length of the child's stay in care each day. Reimbursements are based on attendance and enrollment reports submitted to the School Fiscal Services Division, California Department of Education.

Important Dates

Date Application Available December 14, 2006
Due Date February 2, 2007
Expected Notification Date December 14, 2006

Additional Information

Application Unavailable
Background Expectant and Parenting Students [http://www.cde.ca.gov/ls/cg/pp/index.asp]
Fiscal California School Age Families Education [http://www.cde.ca.gov/fg/aa/ca/calsafe.asp]
Funding ResultsRes-06: Cal-SAFE  [http://www.cde.ca.gov/fg/fo/r8/calsafe06result.asp]
Other Female and male expectant and parenting students eighteen years or younger are eligible to receive services if they have not earned a high school diploma or its equivalent. If they turn nineteen years of age while they are enrolled, they may be enrolled for one additional semester. Students with an active special education individualized education program (IEP) are eligible regardless of age or grade if they have not yet graduated. Children of enrolled student parents are eligible for child care and development services until the child reaches five years of age or is enrolled in kindergarten, whichever occurs first.

Contacts

Program Nancy Christophel, 916-319-0541, nchristo@cde.ca.gov
Fiscal Julie Klein Briggs, 916-323-6191, jbriggs@cde.ca.gov
Division Coordinated Student Support, 916-319-0914 (phone), 916-445-7367 (fax)
Last Modified: November 4, 2013

Share this Page

Related Content

Recently Posted in Funding