Skip to content
Printer-friendly version

General Educational Development Test (GED®)

The GED test is for adults who do not have a high school diploma. Those who pass the test receive a California High School Equivalency Certificate.

In California, persons who are 18 years of age or older may take the GED test. Some 17-year-olds who meet specific criteria for testing may also take the test.

Testing centers throughout California give the test many times during the year. The GED test covers five subjects: reading, writing, math, science, and social studies. There is a fee to take the test.

  • For additional information about the GED, you may contact your local adult school or testing center.
  • The GED - CalEdFacts page provides a more detailed overview about the test.
  • The links and information below were developed for educators and others who work with the GED Test programs in California.

GED Testing Service Web site External link opens in new window or tab.

Frequently Asked Questions
Answers to frequently asked questions

Program Notes
Updates and Notes for the GED Program.

Administrative Documents
Information for the GED Program Regulations and Testing Centers

GED Testing Centers by County

GED Testing Centers by City

GED 2013 Conference
GED® 2014: Next Steps Conference will be held in Sacramento on Wednesday, October 9, 2013, at the Holiday Inn Capitol Plaza. The conference will provide critical updates on the GED testing program in California.

GED® and GED Testing Service® are registered trademarks of the American Council on Education® and may not be used or reproduced without the express written permission of the American Council on Education.

Questions: GED Office | | 916-445-9438 
Download Free Readers