Skip to content
Printer-friendly version

American Indian Education Centers

Directory of American Indian Education Centers in California listed by the county in which they are located.

American Indian Education Centers in California are authorized by California Education Code, Article 6, sections 33380-33383. Center staff assist schools with professional development, counseling, tutorial services, or parent education. They also provide supplemental and extended day instructional programs to meet the needs of American Indian students.

Contact a center in your county for assistance:

Alameda | Alpine | Amador/El Dorado | Butte/Glenn | Del Norte | Humboldt | Inyo | Kern | Lake | Lassen | Los Angeles/Orange | Modoc | Plumas | Riverside | Sacramento | San Diego | Santa Barbara | Shasta | Tulare

Alameda

American Indian Child Resource Center
Mary Trimble Norris, Director
522 Grand Avenue
Oakland, CA 94610
510-208-1870, ext. 309
Fax: 510-208-1886
E-mail: mary@aicrc.org

Alpine

Woodfords Indian Education Center
Debby Carlson, Grants Manager
96-A Washo Boulevard
Woodfords, CA 96120
530-694-2964
Fax: 530-694-2739
E-Mail: dcarlson@washoetribe.us

Amador and El Dorado

Foothill Indian Education Alliance
James Marquez, Executive Director
P.O. Box 1418
El Dorado, CA 95623
Placerville: 530-621-3096
Fax: 530-621-1609
Ione: 209-274-0296
E-mail: foothill@innercite.com

Butte and Glenn

Four Winds of Indian Education
Rachel McBride, Education Director
2345 Fair Street
Chico, CA 95928
530-895-4212 ext 110
Fax: 530-895-4310
E-mail: rachel.4winds@sbcglobal.net

Del Norte County

Northern California Indian
Development Council (NCIDC)
Andre Cramblit, Operations Director
Irma Amaro, Director
241 F Street
Eureka, CA  95501
707-464-3512
Fax: 707-464-7462
E-mail: andrekaruk@ncidc.org and irma@ncidc.org

Top of page.

Humboldt

Hoopa Valley Tribe
Kerry Venegas, Program Manager
P.O. Box 428
Hoopa, CA 95546
530-625-4040
Fax: 530-625-5444
E-mail: kerry.venegas@gmail.com

Indian Action Council of NW CA, Inc.
Coleen Bruno, Director
2905 Hubbard Lane, Suite C
Eureka, CA 95501
707-443-8401
Fax: 707-443-9281
E-mail: indianaction@att.net

Inyo

Big Pine Indian Education Center
Cheryl L. Levine, Interim Education Director
P.O. Box 700
Big Pine, CA 93513
760-938-2530
Fax: 760-938-3125
E-mail: c.levine@bigpinepaiute.org

Bishop Indian Education Center
Meryl L. Picard, Interim Education Director
P.O. Box 1648
Bishop, CA 93515
760-873-5740
Fax: 760-873-4143
E-mail: meryl.picard@bishoppaiute.org

Kern

Kern Indian Education & Community Resource Center
Dolly Manuelito
1001 Tower Way, Suite 230
Bakersfield, CA  93309
661-328-6206
Fax: 661-328-6235
E-mail: dollymanuelito@ovcdc.com

Lake

Lake County Education Center
Elizabeth Valles, Executive Director
341 North Main Street, PO Box 632
Lakeport, CA 95453
707-263-8424
Fax: 707-263-0120
E-mail: eavalles@excite.com

Top of page.

Lassen

Susanville Indian Rancheria Education Center
Michelle Godman, Director
745 Joaquin Street
Susanville, CA 96130
530-252-1651
Fax: 530-251-2030
E-mail: mgodman@frontier.com

Los Angeles and Orange

Fernandeño Tataviam Band of Mission Indians
Pamela Villasenor, Director of Special Projects
1019 Second Street
San Fernando, CA 91340
818-837-0794
Fax: 818-837-0796
E-mail: pvillasenor@tataviam-nsn.us

Modoc

Resources for Indian Student Education (RISE)
April Lea Go Forth, Director
P.O. Box 1878
Alturas, CA 96101
530-233-2226
Fax: 530-233-2226
E-mail: rise@citlink.net

Plumas

Roundhouse Council, Inc.
Mary Joseph, Executive Director
P.O. Box 217
Greenville, CA 95947
530-284-6866
Fax: 530-284-6741
E-mail: mary@roundhousecouncil.com

Top of page.

Riverside

Ahmium Learning Center, Inc.
Ernie Salgado, Executive Director
P.O. Box 366
San Jacinto, CA 92582
951-654-2781
Fax: 951-654-3089
E-mail: erniesalgado51@hotmail.com

Sacramento

Capitol Area Indian Resources (CAIR), Inc.
Cindy La Marr, Executive Director
3423 Arden Way
Sacramento, CA 95825
916-971-9190
Fax: 916-971-0480
E-mail: cair@cair.us

San Diego

Campo Band of Mission Indians
Debbie Cuero, Education Director
36190 Church Road, Suite 1
Campo, CA 91906 619-478-9346, ext. 222
Fax: 619-478-5143
E-mail: dcuero@campo-nsn.gov

Pala Indian Education Center
Doretta Musick, Education Director
PMB 50, 35008 Pala Temecula Road
12196 Pala-Mission Road
Pala, CA 92059
760-742-1997
Fax: 760-742-1178
E-mail: dmusick@palatribe.com

Rincon Indian Education Center, Inc.
Hun-wut Turner, Director
P.O. Box 1147
Valley Center, CA 92082
760-749-1386 or 760-751-9921
Fax 760-749-8838
E-mail: rinconeducation@yahoo.com

Southern California American Indian Resource Center
Wanda Michaelis, Director
239 East Main Street
El Cajon, CA 92020
619-328-0676
Fax: 619-328-0724
E-mail: scair@hotmail.com

Santa Barbara

Santa Ynez Band of Chumash Indians
Niki Sandoval, Education Director
P.O. Box 1234
Santa Ynez, CA 93460
805-688-7997
Fax: 805-688-5131
E-mail: nsandoval@santaynezchumash.org

Top of page.

Shasta

Local Indians for Education (LIFE)
Rod Lindsay, Executive Director
P.O. Box 729
Shasta Lake, CA 96019
530-275-1513
Fax: 530-275-6280
E-mail: rod@localindiansforeducation.com

Tulare

Towanits Indian Education Center
Jason Porter, Interim Education Director
P.O. Box 589
Porterville, CA 93258
559-784-6135
Fax: 559-784-1351
E-mail: jporter@towanits.com

Top of page.

Questions: Judy Delgado | judelgado@cde.ca.gov | 916-319-0506 
Download Free Readers